Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 19 Dec 2019 08:35:25 -0800
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...omium.org>
To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Cc: Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, 
	Kristen Carlson Accardi <kristen@...ux.intel.com>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, 
	Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>, "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, 
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>, 
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, "the arch/x86 maintainers" <x86@...nel.org>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, 
	Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>, Thomas Hellstrom <thellstrom@...are.com>, 
	"VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@...are.com>, "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>, 
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>, 
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>, Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>, 
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>, 
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>, 
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, Alexios Zavras <alexios.zavras@...el.com>, 
	Allison Randal <allison@...utok.net>, 
	Linux Crypto Mailing List <linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, 
	virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org, 
	Linux PM list <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v10 00/11] x86: PIE support to extend KASLR randomization

On Thu, Dec 19, 2019 at 5:35 AM Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org> wrote:
>
> On Wed, Dec 04, 2019 at 04:09:37PM -0800, Thomas Garnier wrote:
> > Minor changes based on feedback and rebase from v9.
> >
> > Splitting the previous serie in two. This part contains assembly code
> > changes required for PIE but without any direct dependencies with the
> > rest of the patchset.
>
> ISTR suggestion you add an objtool pass that verifies there are no
> absolute text references left. Otherwise we'll forever be chasing that
> last one..

Correct, I have a reference in the changelog saying I will tackle in
the next patchset because we still have non-pie references in other
places but the fix is a bit more complex (for exemple per-cpu) and not
included in this phase. I will add a better explanation in the next
message for patch v11.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.