Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu,  6 Dec 2018 18:13:07 +0300
From: Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com>
To: kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
	Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>,
	Richard Sandiford <richard.sandiford@....com>,
	Segher Boessenkool <segher@...nel.crashing.org>,
	Alexander Monakov <amonakov@...ras.ru>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>,
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	H Peter Anvin <hpa@...or.com>,
	David S Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	gcc@....gnu.org,
	alex.popov@...ux.com,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v2 1/1] stackleak: Register the 'stackleak_cleanup' pass before the '*free_cfg' pass

Currently the 'stackleak_cleanup' pass deleting a CALL insn is executed
after the 'reload' pass. That allows gcc to do some weird optimization in
function prologues and epilogues, which are generated later [1].

Let's avoid that by registering the 'stackleak_cleanup' pass before
the '*free_cfg' pass. It's the moment when the stack frame size is
already final, function prologues and epilogues are generated, and the
machine-dependent code transformations are not done.

[1] https://www.openwall.com/lists/kernel-hardening/2018/11/23/2

Reported-by: kbuild test robot <lkp@...el.com>
Signed-off-by: Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com>
---
 scripts/gcc-plugins/stackleak_plugin.c | 8 +++++---
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/scripts/gcc-plugins/stackleak_plugin.c b/scripts/gcc-plugins/stackleak_plugin.c
index 2f48da9..dbd3746 100644
--- a/scripts/gcc-plugins/stackleak_plugin.c
+++ b/scripts/gcc-plugins/stackleak_plugin.c
@@ -363,10 +363,12 @@ __visible int plugin_init(struct plugin_name_args *plugin_info,
 						PASS_POS_INSERT_BEFORE);
 
 	/*
-	 * The stackleak_cleanup pass should be executed after the
-	 * "reload" pass, when the stack frame size is final.
+	 * The stackleak_cleanup pass should be executed before the "*free_cfg"
+	 * pass. It's the moment when the stack frame size is already final,
+	 * function prologues and epilogues are generated, and the
+	 * machine-dependent code transformations are not done.
 	 */
-	PASS_INFO(stackleak_cleanup, "reload", 1, PASS_POS_INSERT_AFTER);
+	PASS_INFO(stackleak_cleanup, "*free_cfg", 1, PASS_POS_INSERT_BEFORE);
 
 	if (!plugin_default_version_check(version, &gcc_version)) {
 		error(G_("incompatible gcc/plugin versions"));
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.