Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 15 Feb 2017 07:44:04 -0800
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
To: Andy Lutomirski <luto@...capital.net>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, 
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>, 
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>, Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>, 
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>, 
	Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>, "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>, 
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>, Jiri Kosina <jikos@...nel.org>, 
	Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>, Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>, 
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>, Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>, 
	Rusty Russell <rusty@...tcorp.com.au>, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>, 
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>, "Luis R . Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>, 
	He Chen <he.chen@...ux.intel.com>, Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>, 
	Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@...hat.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, 
	Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@...il.com>, Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>, 
	Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@...hat.com>, Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>, 
	Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@...ux.intel.com>, Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>, 
	Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>, Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>, 
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>, Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>, 
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>, Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>, 
	X86 ML <x86@...nel.org>, 
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, kasan-dev <kasan-dev@...glegroups.com>, 
	"linux-pm@...r.kernel.org" <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"linux-efi@...r.kernel.org" <linux-efi@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org" <xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org>, lguest@...ts.ozlabs.org, 
	kvm list <kvm@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com" <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 4/4] KVM: VMX: Simplify segment_base

On Tue, Feb 14, 2017 at 7:57 PM, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...capital.net> wrote:
> On Tue, Feb 14, 2017 at 11:42 AM, Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com> wrote:
>> The KVM segment_base function is confusing. This patch replaces integers
>> with appropriate flags, simplify constructs and add comments.
>
> It could pay to put this first in the series, but last is probably fine, too.
>

:)

>>
>> Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
>> ---
>> Based on next-20170213
>> ---
>>  arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c | 26 ++++++++++++++++++--------
>>  1 file changed, 18 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)
>>
>> diff --git a/arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c b/arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c
>> index 99167f20bc34..edb8326108dd 100644
>> --- a/arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c
>> +++ b/arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c
>> @@ -2062,25 +2062,35 @@ static unsigned long segment_base(u16 selector)
>>         struct desc_struct *d;
>>         unsigned long table_base;
>
> This should go away IMO.  It should be struct desc_struct *table;
>
>> +               table_base = get_current_gdt_rw_vaddr();
>
> Then this can go away, too, and you can stop having the silly
> get_current_gdt_rw_vaddr() function at all.
>
>> +       d = (struct desc_struct *)table_base + (selector >> 3);
>
> And this cast goes away too.

No problem.

-- 
Thomas

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.