Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 15 Feb 2017 16:49:21 +0100
From: Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>
To: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...capital.net>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
	Jiri Kosina <jikos@...nel.org>,
	Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
	Rusty Russell <rusty@...tcorp.com.au>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
	"Luis R . Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
	He Chen <he.chen@...ux.intel.com>, Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
	Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@...hat.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@...il.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>,
	Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@...hat.com>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
	Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@...ux.intel.com>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>, Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>, Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>, Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	the arch/x86 maintainers <x86@...nel.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	kasan-dev <kasan-dev@...glegroups.com>,
	Linux PM list <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>, linux-efi@...r.kernel.org,
	xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org, lguest@...ts.ozlabs.org,
	kvm list <kvm@...r.kernel.org>,
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 1/4] x86/mm: Adapt MODULES_END based on Fixmap section
 size

On Wed, Feb 15, 2017 at 07:40:51AM -0800, Thomas Garnier wrote:
> Why do you think they rely on it being static? The VSYSCALL address is
> not changed for example.

I don't know, that's why I'm asking first. Userspace is known to pick
different aspects of the kernel and deciding to use them for whatever.
And once it relies on that, there's no changing it.

-- 
Regards/Gruss,
    Boris.

SUSE Linux GmbH, GF: Felix Imendörffer, Jane Smithard, Graham Norton, HRB 21284 (AG Nürnberg)
-- 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.