Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 3 Feb 2017 11:45:56 -0800
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>
Cc: Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@...driver.com>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, 
	Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>, 
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@...isc-linux.org>, 
	Helge Deller <deller@....de>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>, 
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, 
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, "x86@...nel.org" <x86@...nel.org>, 
	Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>, "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>, Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, 
	Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, Jessica Yu <jeyu@...hat.com>, 
	"linux-doc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, 
	linux-parisc <linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"linux-s390@...r.kernel.org" <linux-s390@...r.kernel.org>, Linux PM list <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com" <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCHv2 1/2] arch: Move CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA and
 CONFIG_SET_MODULE_RONX to be common

On Fri, Feb 3, 2017 at 9:52 AM, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com> wrote:
> There are multiple architectures that support CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA and
> CONFIG_SET_MODULE_RONX. These options also now have the ability to be
> turned off at runtime. Move these to an architecture independent
> location and make these options def_bool y for almost all of those
> arches.
>
> Signed-off-by: Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>
> ---
> v2: This patch is now doing just the refactor of the existing config options.
> ---
>  arch/Kconfig              | 28 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>  arch/arm/Kconfig          |  3 +++
>  arch/arm/Kconfig.debug    | 11 -----------
>  arch/arm/mm/Kconfig       | 12 ------------
>  arch/arm64/Kconfig        |  5 ++---
>  arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug  | 11 -----------
>  arch/parisc/Kconfig       |  1 +
>  arch/parisc/Kconfig.debug | 11 -----------
>  arch/s390/Kconfig         |  5 ++---
>  arch/s390/Kconfig.debug   |  3 ---
>  arch/x86/Kconfig          |  5 ++---
>  arch/x86/Kconfig.debug    | 11 -----------
>  12 files changed, 38 insertions(+), 68 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/arch/Kconfig b/arch/Kconfig
> index 99839c2..22ee01e 100644
> --- a/arch/Kconfig
> +++ b/arch/Kconfig
> @@ -781,4 +781,32 @@ config VMAP_STACK
>           the stack to map directly to the KASAN shadow map using a formula
>           that is incorrect if the stack is in vmalloc space.
>
> +config ARCH_NO_STRICT_RWX_DEFAULTS
> +       def_bool n
> +
> +config ARCH_HAS_STRICT_KERNEL_RWX
> +       def_bool n
> +
> +config DEBUG_RODATA
> +       def_bool y if !ARCH_NO_STRICT_RWX_DEFAULTS
> +       prompt "Make kernel text and rodata read-only" if ARCH_NO_STRICT_RWX_DEFAULTS

Ah! Yes, perfect. I totally forgot about using conditional "prompt" lines. Nice!

Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>

-Kees

-- 
Kees Cook
Pixel Security

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.