Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 3 Feb 2017 18:26:49 +0000
From: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
To: Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@...driver.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@...isc-linux.org>,
	Helge Deller <deller@....de>,
	Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	x86@...nel.org, Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
	Jessica Yu <jeyu@...hat.com>, linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org, linux-s390@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-pm@...r.kernel.org, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCHv2 2/2] arch: Rename CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA and
 CONFIG_DEBUG_MODULE_RONX

On Fri, Feb 03, 2017 at 09:52:22AM -0800, Laura Abbott wrote:
> 
> Both of these options are poorly named. The features they provide are
> necessary for system security and should not be considered debug only.
> Change the name to something that accurately describes what these
> options do.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>

As with patch 1, this looks good to me. FWIW:

Acked-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>

> diff --git a/arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug b/arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug
> index 939815e..560a8d8 100644
> --- a/arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug
> +++ b/arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug
> @@ -72,7 +72,7 @@ config DEBUG_WX
>  	  If in doubt, say "Y".
>  
>  config DEBUG_ALIGN_RODATA
> -	depends on DEBUG_RODATA
> +	depends on STRICT_KERNEL_RWX
>  	bool "Align linker sections up to SECTION_SIZE"
>  	help
>  	  If this option is enabled, sections that may potentially be marked as
> diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/insn.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/insn.c
> index 94b62c1..67f9cb9 100644
> --- a/arch/arm64/kernel/insn.c
> +++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/insn.c
> @@ -93,7 +93,7 @@ static void __kprobes *patch_map(void *addr, int fixmap)
>  	bool module = !core_kernel_text(uintaddr);
>  	struct page *page;
>  
> -	if (module && IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_DEBUG_SET_MODULE_RONX))
> +	if (module && IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_STRICT_MODULE_RWX))
>  		page = vmalloc_to_page(addr);
>  	else if (!module)
>  		page = pfn_to_page(PHYS_PFN(__pa(addr)));

Since CONFIG_STRICT_MODULE_RWX is mandatory for arm64, we should be able
to simplify this, but that can wait for a later patch.

Thanks,
Mark.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.