Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 3 Feb 2017 12:03:16 -0800
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>
Cc: Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@...driver.com>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, 
	Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>, 
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@...isc-linux.org>, 
	Helge Deller <deller@....de>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>, 
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, 
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, "x86@...nel.org" <x86@...nel.org>, 
	Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>, "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>, Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, 
	Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, Jessica Yu <jeyu@...hat.com>, 
	"linux-doc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, 
	linux-parisc <linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"linux-s390@...r.kernel.org" <linux-s390@...r.kernel.org>, Linux PM list <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com" <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCHv2 2/2] arch: Rename CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA and CONFIG_DEBUG_MODULE_RONX

On Fri, Feb 3, 2017 at 9:52 AM, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com> wrote:
>
> Both of these options are poorly named. The features they provide are
> necessary for system security and should not be considered debug only.
> Change the name to something that accurately describes what these
> options do.

It may help to explicitly call out the name change from/to in the
commit message.

>
> Signed-off-by: Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>
> ---
> [...]
> diff --git a/arch/arm/configs/aspeed_g4_defconfig b/arch/arm/configs/aspeed_g4_defconfig
> index ca39c04..beea2cc 100644
> --- a/arch/arm/configs/aspeed_g4_defconfig
> +++ b/arch/arm/configs/aspeed_g4_defconfig
> @@ -25,7 +25,6 @@ CONFIG_MODULE_UNLOAD=y
>  # CONFIG_ARCH_MULTI_V7 is not set
>  CONFIG_ARCH_ASPEED=y
>  CONFIG_MACH_ASPEED_G4=y
> -CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA=y
>  CONFIG_AEABI=y
>  CONFIG_UACCESS_WITH_MEMCPY=y
>  CONFIG_SECCOMP=y

Are these defconfig cases correct (dropping DEBUG_RODATA without
adding STRICT_KERNEL_RWX)?

Who should carry this series, btw?

-Kees

-- 
Kees Cook
Pixel Security

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.