Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 3 Jan 2020 09:56:34 +0100
From: Alexey Gladkov <gladkov.alexey@...il.com>
To: J Freyensee <why2jjj.linux@...il.com>
Cc: LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
	Linux API <linux-api@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linux FS Devel <linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linux Security Module <linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org>,
	Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@...il.com>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
	Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
	Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>,
	"Dmitry V . Levin" <ldv@...linux.org>,
	"Eric W . Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
	"J . Bruce Fields" <bfields@...ldses.org>,
	Jeff Layton <jlayton@...chiereds.net>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>,
	Solar Designer <solar@...nwall.com>,
	Stephen Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 07/10] proc: flush task dcache entries from all procfs
 instances

On Mon, Dec 30, 2019 at 02:03:29PM -0800, J Freyensee wrote:
> > +#ifdef CONFIG_PROC_FS
> > +static inline void pidns_proc_lock(struct pid_namespace *pid_ns)
> > +{
> > +	down_write(&pid_ns->rw_proc_mounts);
> > +}
> > +
> > +static inline void pidns_proc_unlock(struct pid_namespace *pid_ns)
> > +{
> > +	up_write(&pid_ns->rw_proc_mounts);
> > +}
> > +
> > +static inline void pidns_proc_lock_shared(struct pid_namespace *pid_ns)
> > +{
> > +	down_read(&pid_ns->rw_proc_mounts);
> > +}
> > +
> > +static inline void pidns_proc_unlock_shared(struct pid_namespace *pid_ns)
> > +{
> > +	up_read(&pid_ns->rw_proc_mounts);
> > +}
> > +#else /* !CONFIG_PROC_FS */
> > +
> Apologies for my newbie question. I couldn't help but notice all these
> function calls are assuming that the parameter struct pid_namespace *pid_ns
> will never be NULL.  Is that a good assumption?

These inline helpers are introduced to improve readability. They only make
sense inside procfs. I don't think that defensive programming is useful
here.

-- 
Rgrds, legion

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.