Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 6 Sep 2019 16:22:47 -0700
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...omium.org>
To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>, Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, 
	Kristen Carlson Accardi <kristen@...ux.intel.com>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, 
	Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>, "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, 
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, 
	"the arch/x86 maintainers" <x86@...nel.org>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>, 
	Thomas Hellstrom <thellstrom@...are.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@...are.com>, 
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>, Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>, 
	Nadav Amit <namit@...are.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>, Feng Tang <feng.tang@...el.com>, 
	Maran Wilson <maran.wilson@...cle.com>, Enrico Weigelt <info@...ux.net>, 
	Allison Randal <allison@...utok.net>, Alexios Zavras <alexios.zavras@...el.com>, 
	Linux Crypto Mailing List <linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, 
	virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org, 
	Linux PM list <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v9 00/11] x86: PIE support to extend KASLR randomization

On Thu, Aug 29, 2019 at 12:55 PM Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...omium.org> wrote:
>
> On Tue, Aug 6, 2019 at 8:51 AM Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org> wrote:
> >
> > On Tue, Aug 06, 2019 at 05:43:47PM +0200, Borislav Petkov wrote:
> > > On Tue, Jul 30, 2019 at 12:12:44PM -0700, Thomas Garnier wrote:
> > > > These patches make some of the changes necessary to build the kernel as
> > > > Position Independent Executable (PIE) on x86_64. Another patchset will
> > > > add the PIE option and larger architecture changes.
> > >
> > > Yeah, about this: do we have a longer writeup about the actual benefits
> > > of all this and why we should take this all? After all, after looking
> > > at the first couple of asm patches, it is posing restrictions to how
> > > we deal with virtual addresses in asm (only RIP-relative addressing in
> > > 64-bit mode, MOVs with 64-bit immediates, etc, for example) and I'm
> > > willing to bet money that some future unrelated change will break PIE
> > > sooner or later.
>
> The goal is being able to extend the range of addresses where the
> kernel can be placed with KASLR. I will look at clarifying that in the
> future.
>
> >
> > Possibly objtool can help here; it should be possible to teach it about
> > these rules, and then it will yell when violated. That should avoid
> > regressions.
> >
>
> I will look into that as well.

Following a discussion with Kees. I will explore objtool in the
follow-up patchset as we still have more elaborate pie changes in the
second set. I like the idea overall and I think it would be great if
it works.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.