Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 6 Sep 2019 12:03:26 -0700 (PDT)
From: James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>
To: Jeff Layton <jlayton@...nel.org>
cc: Mickaël Salaün <mickael.salaun@....gouv.fr>,
        Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>,
        Mickaël Salaün <mic@...ikod.net>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@...har.com>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>, Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Christian Heimes <christian@...hon.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Eric Chiang <ericchiang@...gle.com>, Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
        Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...gle.com>,
        Matthew Wilcox <willy@...radead.org>,
        Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@...il.com>,
        Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Philippe Trébuchet <philippe.trebuchet@....gouv.fr>,
        Scott Shell <scottsh@...rosoft.com>,
        Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>, Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>,
        Steve Dower <steve.dower@...hon.org>, Steve Grubb <sgrubb@...hat.com>,
        Thibaut Sautereau <thibaut.sautereau@....gouv.fr>,
        Vincent Strubel <vincent.strubel@....gouv.fr>,
        Yves-Alexis Perez <yves-alexis.perez@....gouv.fr>,
        kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com, linux-api@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/5] fs: Add support for an O_MAYEXEC flag on
 sys_open()

On Fri, 6 Sep 2019, Jeff Layton wrote:

> The fact that open and openat didn't vet unknown flags is really a bug.
> 
> Too late to fix it now, of course, and as Aleksa points out, we've
> worked around that in the past. Now though, we have a new openat2
> syscall on the horizon. There's little need to continue these sorts of
> hacks.
> 
> New open flags really have no place in the old syscalls, IMO.

Agree here. It's unfortunate but a reality and Linus will reject any such 
changes which break existing userspace.


-- 
James Morris
<jmorris@...ei.org>

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.