Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 06 Sep 2019 20:57:00 +0200
From: Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>
To: Steve Grubb <sgrubb@...hat.com>
Cc: Mickaël Salaün <mic@...ikod.net>,
  linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,  Aleksa
 Sarai <cyphar@...har.com>,  Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,  Al Viro
 <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,  Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,  Christian
 Heimes <christian@...hon.org>,  Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
  Eric Chiang <ericchiang@...gle.com>,  James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
  Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,  Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,  Jonathan Corbet
 <corbet@....net>,  Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,  Matthew Garrett
 <mjg59@...gle.com>,  Matthew Wilcox <willy@...radead.org>,  Michael
 Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@...il.com>,  Mickaël Salaün
 <mickael.salaun@....gouv.fr>,  Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.ibm.com>,  Philippe
 Trébuchet <philippe.trebuchet@....gouv.fr>,  Scott Shell
 <scottsh@...rosoft.com>,  Sean Christopherson
 <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>,  Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,  Song
 Liu <songliubraving@...com>,  Steve Dower <steve.dower@...hon.org>,
  Thibaut Sautereau <thibaut.sautereau@....gouv.fr>,  Vincent Strubel
 <vincent.strubel@....gouv.fr>,  Yves-Alexis Perez
 <yves-alexis.perez@....gouv.fr>,  kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
  linux-api@...r.kernel.org,  linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org,
  linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/5] Add support for O_MAYEXEC

* Steve Grubb:

> Now with LD_AUDIT
> $ LD_AUDIT=/home/sgrubb/test/openflags/strip-flags.so.0 strace ./test 2>&1 | grep passwd
> openat(3, "passwd", O_RDONLY)           = 4
>
> No O_CLOEXEC flag.

I think you need to explain in detail why you consider this a problem.

With LD_PRELOAD and LD_AUDIT, you can already do anything, including
scanning other loaded objects for a system call instruction and jumping
to that (in case a security module in the kernel performs a PC check to
confer additional privileges).

Thanks,
Florian

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.