Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 06 Sep 2019 20:44:03 +0200
From: Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>
To: Jeff Layton <jlayton@...nel.org>
Cc: Mickaël Salaün <mickael.salaun@....gouv.fr>,
  Mickaël Salaün
 <mic@...ikod.net>,  linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,  Aleksa Sarai
 <cyphar@...har.com>,  Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,  Al Viro
 <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,  Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,  Christian
 Heimes <christian@...hon.org>,  Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
  Eric Chiang <ericchiang@...gle.com>,  James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
  Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,  Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,  Jonathan Corbet
 <corbet@....net>,  Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,  Matthew Garrett
 <mjg59@...gle.com>,  Matthew Wilcox <willy@...radead.org>,  Michael
 Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@...il.com>,  Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.ibm.com>,
  Philippe Trébuchet <philippe.trebuchet@....gouv.fr>,
  Scott Shell
 <scottsh@...rosoft.com>,  Sean Christopherson
 <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>,  Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,  Song
 Liu <songliubraving@...com>,  Steve Dower <steve.dower@...hon.org>,  Steve
 Grubb <sgrubb@...hat.com>,  Thibaut Sautereau
 <thibaut.sautereau@....gouv.fr>,  Vincent Strubel
 <vincent.strubel@....gouv.fr>,  Yves-Alexis Perez
 <yves-alexis.perez@....gouv.fr>,  kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
  linux-api@...r.kernel.org,  linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org,
  linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/5] fs: Add support for an O_MAYEXEC flag on sys_open()

* Jeff Layton:

> Even better would be to declare the new flag in some openat2-only flag
> space, so there's no confusion about it being supported by legacy open
> calls.

Isn't that desirable anyway because otherwise fcntl with F_GETFL will
give really confusing results?

> If glibc wants to implement an open -> openat2 wrapper in userland
> later, it can set that flag in the wrapper implicitly to emulate the old
> behavior.

I see us rather doing the opposite, i.e. implement openat2 with
non-exotic flags using openat.  But we've bitten by this in the past, so
maybe that's not such a great idea.  It's tempting to make the same
mistake again for every new system call.

Thanks,
Florian

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.