Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 16 Apr 2019 14:04:49 +0200
From: Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>
To: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, 
	linux-security-module <linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Linux Memory Management List <linux-mm@...ck.org>, Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>, 
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>, Dmitriy Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, 
	Sandeep Patil <sspatil@...roid.com>, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] mm: security: introduce CONFIG_INIT_HEAP_ALL

On Tue, Apr 16, 2019 at 10:33 AM Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz> wrote:
>
> On 4/12/19 2:45 PM, Alexander Potapenko wrote:
> > +config INIT_HEAP_ALL
> > +     bool "Initialize kernel heap allocations"
>
> Calling slab and page allocations together as "heap" is rather uncommon
> in the kernel I think. But I don't have a better word right now.
We can provide two separate flags for slab and page allocator to avoid this.
I cannot think of a situation where this level of control is necessary
though (apart from benchmarking).
> > +     default n
> > +     help
> > +       Enforce initialization of pages allocated from page allocator
> > +       and objects returned by kmalloc and friends.
> > +       Allocated memory is initialized with zeroes, preventing possible
> > +       information leaks and making the control-flow bugs that depend
> > +       on uninitialized values more deterministic.
> > +
> >  config GCC_PLUGIN_STRUCTLEAK_VERBOSE
> >       bool "Report forcefully initialized variables"
> >       depends on GCC_PLUGIN_STRUCTLEAK
> >
>


-- 
Alexander Potapenko
Software Engineer

Google Germany GmbH
Erika-Mann-Straße, 33
80636 München

Geschäftsführer: Paul Manicle, Halimah DeLaine Prado
Registergericht und -nummer: Hamburg, HRB 86891
Sitz der Gesellschaft: Hamburg

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.