Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 15 Apr 2019 23:02:53 -0500
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>, Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>, 
	James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>, Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>, 
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>, Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>, Sandeep Patil <sspatil@...roid.com>, 
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>, Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>, 
	Michal Marek <michal.lkml@...kovi.net>, Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>, 
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>, Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, 
	linux-security-module <linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org>, 
	linux-kbuild <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/3] security: Create "kernel hardening" config area

On Mon, Apr 15, 2019 at 11:44 AM Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com> wrote:
>
> On 11.04.2019 21:01, Kees Cook wrote:
> > Right now kernel hardening options are scattered around various Kconfig
> > files. This can be a central place to collect these kinds of options
> > going forward. This is initially populated with the memory initialization
> > options from the gcc-plugins.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
>
> Hello Kees, hello everyone!
>
> After applying this series the kernel config looks like that:
>
> ...
> ...
> CONFIG_LSM="yama,loadpin,safesetid,integrity,selinux,smack,tomoyo,apparmor"
>
> #
> # Kernel hardening options
> #
>
> #
> # Memory initialization
> #
> CONFIG_INIT_STACK_NONE=y
> # CONFIG_GCC_PLUGIN_STRUCTLEAK_USER is not set
> # CONFIG_GCC_PLUGIN_STRUCTLEAK_BYREF is not set
> # CONFIG_GCC_PLUGIN_STRUCTLEAK_BYREF_ALL is not set
> # CONFIG_GCC_PLUGIN_STACKLEAK is not set
> CONFIG_CRYPTO=y
>
> #
> # Crypto core or helper
> #
> CONFIG_CRYPTO_ALGAPI=y
> ...
> ...
>
> What do you think about some separator between memory initialization options and
> CONFIG_CRYPTO?

This was true before too:

...
# CONFIG_DEFAULT_SECURITY_DAC is not set
CONFIG_LSM="yama,loadpin,safesetid,integrity,selinux,smack,tomoyo,apparmor"
CONFIG_XOR_BLOCKS=y
CONFIG_ASYNC_CORE=y
CONFIG_ASYNC_MEMCPY=y
CONFIG_ASYNC_XOR=y
CONFIG_ASYNC_PQ=y
CONFIG_ASYNC_RAID6_RECOV=y
CONFIG_CRYPTO=y
...

Perhaps crypto/Kconfig's comment line could move to the top of the file?

comment "Crypto core or helper"

is what generates the separator...

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.