Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 11 Apr 2019 16:59:13 +0900
From: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>, Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Sandeep Patil <sspatil@...roid.com>, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
        Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        Alexander Popov <alpopov@...ecurity.com>,
        Michal Marek <michal.lkml@...kovi.net>,
        Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>, James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
        "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>,
        Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org,
        Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/3] Kconfig: Refactor memory initialization hardening

On Thu, Apr 11, 2019 at 1:16 AM Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
>
> This is a proposed alternative for the memory initialization series,
> which refactoring the existing gcc plugins into a separate Kconfig
> file and collects all the related options together with some more
> language to describe their differences. The last patch adds the
> Clang auto init option, as done by Alexander Potapenko.
>
> Since there isn't really a good way to "select" with dependencies,
> I've left out CONFIG_INIT_ALL_MEMORY for the moment...
>
> -Kees
>
> Kees Cook (3):
>   Kconfig: Create "kernel hardening" config area

I want to see "kconfig:" prefix in the subject line
only for changed in scripts/kconfig/.


>   kbuild: Move stackleak config to Kconfig.hardening

This is not a change in the build system.

>   kbuild: Implement Clang's stack initialization


I think "gcc-plugin:", "security:' or something is better for the
patch subjects, and this patch series is out of
my maintenance area.





>  Makefile                    |   5 ++
>  scripts/gcc-plugins/Kconfig | 121 +-------------------------
>  security/Kconfig            |   2 +
>  security/Kconfig.hardening  | 165 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>  4 files changed, 175 insertions(+), 118 deletions(-)
>  create mode 100644 security/Kconfig.hardening
>
> --
> 2.17.1
>


--
Best Regards
Masahiro Yamada

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.