Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 5 Apr 2019 16:00:05 +0200
From: Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>
To: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>, "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>, 
	linux-security-module <linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>, Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>, 
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>, Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, 
	Sandeep Patil <sspatil@...roid.com>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/2] initmem: introduce CONFIG_INIT_ALL_HEAP

On Fri, Apr 5, 2019 at 1:36 PM Masahiro Yamada
<yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com> wrote:
>
> On Fri, Mar 8, 2019 at 10:27 PM Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com> wrote:
> >
> > diff --git a/security/Kconfig.initmem b/security/Kconfig.initmem
> > index 27aec394365e..5ce49663777a 100644
> > --- a/security/Kconfig.initmem
> > +++ b/security/Kconfig.initmem
> > @@ -13,6 +13,17 @@ config INIT_ALL_MEMORY
> >
> >  if INIT_ALL_MEMORY
> >
> > +config INIT_ALL_HEAP
> > +       bool "Initialize all heap"
> > +       depends on INIT_ALL_MEMORY
> > +       select CONFIG_PAGE_POISONING
> > +       select CONFIG_PAGE_POISONING_NO_SANITY
> > +       select CONFIG_PAGE_POISONING_ZERO
> > +       select CONFIG_SLUB_DEBUG
>
> This should like follows (no CONFIG_ prefix):
>
>          select PAGE_POISONING
>          select PAGE_POISONING_NO_SANITY
>          select PAGE_POISONING_ZERO
>          select SLUB_DEBUG
Thanks!
> But, again, this causes unmet dependency if SLUB=n
          select SLUB_DEBUG if SLUB
seems to help. Guess it's better than making CONFIG_INIT_ALL_HEAP
depend on SLUB.
>
>
>
>
> > +       default y
> > +       help
> > +         Enable page poisoning and slub poisoning by default.
> > +
> >  config INIT_ALL_STACK
> >         bool "Initialize all stack"
> >         depends on INIT_ALL_MEMORY
> > --
> > 2.21.0.360.g471c308f928-goog
> >
>
>
> --
> Best Regards
> Masahiro Yamada



-- 
Alexander Potapenko
Software Engineer

Google Germany GmbH
Erika-Mann-Straße, 33
80636 München

Geschäftsführer: Paul Manicle, Halimah DeLaine Prado
Registergericht und -nummer: Hamburg, HRB 86891
Sitz der Gesellschaft: Hamburg

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.