Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Sat, 21 Jul 2018 01:31:28 +0200
From: Ahmed Abd El Mawgood <ahmedsoliman0x666@...il.com>
To: kvm@...r.kernel.org,
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
	virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
	linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
	x86@...nel.org,
	xen-devel@...ts.xensource.com
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	rkrcmar@...hat.com,
	nathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	hpa@...or.com,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	David Hildenbrand <david@...hat.com>,
	Boris Lukashev <blukashev@...pervictus.com>,
	David Vrabel <david.vrabel@...anix.com>,
	nigel.edwards@....com,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...riel.com>,
	Ahmed Abd El Mawgood <ahmedsoliman0x666@...il.com>
Subject: [PATCH RFC V4 1/3] KVM: X86: Memory ROE documentation

Following up with my previous threads on KVM assisted Anti rootkit
protections.
The current version doesn't address the attacks involving pages
remapping. It is still design in progress, nevertheless, it will be in
my later patch sets.

Signed-off-by: Ahmed Abd El Mawgood <ahmedsoliman0x666@...il.com>
---
 Documentation/virtual/kvm/hypercalls.txt | 14 ++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 14 insertions(+)

diff --git a/Documentation/virtual/kvm/hypercalls.txt b/Documentation/virtual/kvm/hypercalls.txt
index a890529c63ed..affd997eabfe 100644
--- a/Documentation/virtual/kvm/hypercalls.txt
+++ b/Documentation/virtual/kvm/hypercalls.txt
@@ -121,3 +121,17 @@ compute the CLOCK_REALTIME for its clock, at the same instant.
 
 Returns KVM_EOPNOTSUPP if the host does not use TSC clocksource,
 or if clock type is different than KVM_CLOCK_PAIRING_WALLCLOCK.
+
+7. KVM_HC_HMROE
+----------------
+Architecture: x86
+Status: active
+Purpose: Hypercall used to apply Read-Only Enforcement to guest pages
+Usage:
+     a0: Start address aligned to page boundary.
+     a1: Number of pages to be protected.
+This hypercall lets a guest kernel have part of its read/write memory
+converted into read-only.  This action is irreversible. KVM_HC_HMROE can
+not be triggered from guest Ring 3 (user mode). The reason is that user
+mode malicious software can make use of it to enforce read only protection
+on an arbitrary memory page thus crashing the kernel.
-- 
2.16.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.