Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 28 Nov 2017 21:39:57 -0500
From: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>
To: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
Cc: kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com, Linus Torvalds
 <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>, "Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,
 Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Paolo
 Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>, Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>, "Roberts,
 William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>, Jordan
 Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>, Greg KH
 <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Joe Perches
 <joe@...ches.com>, Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>, Sergey Senozhatsky
 <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
 Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>, Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>, Dave
 Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>, Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>, Djalal
 Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>, Radim Krčmář
 <rkrcmar@...hat.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Network Development
 <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>, Stephen
 Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>, Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
 Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>, Dmitry Vyukov
 <dvyukov@...gle.com>, Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH V11 2/5] vsprintf: refactor %pK code out of pointer()

On Wed, 29 Nov 2017 13:05:02 +1100
"Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc> wrote:

> +		/*
> +		 * kptr_restrict==1 cannot be used in IRQ context
> +		 * because its test for CAP_SYSLOG would be meaningless.
> +		 */
> +		if (in_irq() || in_serving_softirq() || in_nmi())

This could be replaced with:

		if (!in_task())

Which is actually more efficient.

-- Steve

> +			return string(buf, end, "pK-error", spec);

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.