Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 28 Nov 2017 10:40:58 +1100
From: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,
	Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
	"Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
	Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>,
	Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
	Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>,
	Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	kvm@...r.kernel.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH 5/5] vfio_pci: use %px to print token identifier

Currently token address is printed using %p. This exposes the address of
the token in dmesg and potentially leaks sensitive information to
userspace. In this instance the address is being used as a unique
identifier for the token, we can use the newly defined printk specifier
%px for exactly this purpose.

Use the new %px specifier to print a unique identifier for the token.

Signed-off-by: Tobin C. Harding <me@...in.cc>
---
 drivers/vfio/pci/vfio_pci_intrs.c | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/vfio/pci/vfio_pci_intrs.c b/drivers/vfio/pci/vfio_pci_intrs.c
index 1c46045b0e7f..73d3ae8b5784 100644
--- a/drivers/vfio/pci/vfio_pci_intrs.c
+++ b/drivers/vfio/pci/vfio_pci_intrs.c
@@ -346,7 +346,7 @@ static int vfio_msi_set_vector_signal(struct vfio_pci_device *vdev,
 	ret = irq_bypass_register_producer(&vdev->ctx[vector].producer);
 	if (unlikely(ret))
 		dev_info(&pdev->dev,
-		"irq bypass producer (token %p) registration fails: %d\n",
+		"irq bypass producer (token %px) registration fails: %d\n",
 		vdev->ctx[vector].producer.token, ret);
 
 	vdev->ctx[vector].trigger = trigger;
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.