Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 28 Nov 2017 10:40:57 +1100
From: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,
	Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
	"Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
	Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>,
	Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
	Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>,
	Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	kvm@...r.kernel.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH 4/5] KVM: use %px to print token identifier

Currently token address is printed using %p. This exposes the address of
the token in dmesg and potentially leaks sensitive information to
userspace. In this instance the address is being used as a unique
identifier for the token, we can use the newly defined printk specifier
%px for exactly this purpose.

Use the new %px specifier to print a unique identifier for the token.

Signed-off-by: Tobin C. Harding <me@...in.cc>
---
 virt/kvm/eventfd.c | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/virt/kvm/eventfd.c b/virt/kvm/eventfd.c
index f2ac53ab8243..9c700fdf571c 100644
--- a/virt/kvm/eventfd.c
+++ b/virt/kvm/eventfd.c
@@ -416,7 +416,7 @@ kvm_irqfd_assign(struct kvm *kvm, struct kvm_irqfd *args)
 		irqfd->consumer.start = kvm_arch_irq_bypass_start;
 		ret = irq_bypass_register_consumer(&irqfd->consumer);
 		if (ret)
-			pr_info("irq bypass consumer (token %p) registration fails: %d\n",
+			pr_info("irq bypass consumer (token %px) registration fails: %d\n",
 				irqfd->consumer.token, ret);
 	}
 #endif
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.