Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 31 Oct 2017 13:00:05 +1100
From: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
To: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>
Cc: kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,
	Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ker.com>,
	"Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>, Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>,
	Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
	Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH V8 2/2] printk: hash addresses printed with %p

On Mon, Oct 30, 2017 at 08:00:46PM -0400, Steven Rostedt wrote:
> On Tue, 31 Oct 2017 09:41:02 +1100
> "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc> wrote:
> 
> 
> > Cool. So I think we need
> > 
> >  	get_random_bytes(&ptr_key, sizeof(ptr_key));
> 
> You'll need to add a comment here to describe what ordering the memory
> barrier is used against. That is, somewhere else there's something that
> needs to see the "true" after the "get_random_bytes" update. Describe
> it here.

Got it, thanks Tobin.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.