Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 31 Oct 2017 15:22:27 +0100
From: "Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>
To: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>
Cc: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com, 
	"Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@....edu>, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>, 
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>, 
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ker.com>, "Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>, 
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>, Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>, 
	Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, 
	Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>, Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>, 
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>, 
	Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>, Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>, 
	Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>, Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>, 
	Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7] printk: hash addresses printed with %p

On Mon, Oct 30, 2017 at 9:22 PM, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org> wrote:
> How quickly do you need static_branch_disable() executed? You could
> always pass the work off to a worker thread (that can schedule).
>
> random_ready_callback -> initiates worker thread -> enables the static branch

I had already suggested that much earlier in the thread, but
discounted it in the very same suggestion, because that branch turns
out to be not that expensive anyway, and I think it's more important
that we're able to print meaningful values as soon as we can, rather
than waiting for the scheduler.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.