Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed,  4 Oct 2017 14:19:58 -0700
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
To: Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@...omium.org>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>,
	Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
	Chris Wright <chrisw@...s-sol.org>,
	Alok Kataria <akataria@...are.com>,
	Rusty Russell <rusty@...tcorp.com.au>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
	Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
	Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>,
	"Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
	"Luis R . Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Christopher Li <sparse@...isli.org>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Jason Baron <jbaron@...mai.com>,
	Dou Liyang <douly.fnst@...fujitsu.com>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@...ux.intel.com>,
	Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
	Markus Trippelsdorf <markus@...ppelsdorf.de>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Waiman Long <longman@...hat.com>,
	Kyle Huey <me@...ehuey.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@...rosoft.com>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
	Peter Foley <pefoley2@...oley.com>,
	Paul Bolle <pebolle@...cali.nl>,
	Jiri Kosina <jkosina@...e.cz>,
	Rob Landley <rob@...dley.net>,
	"H . J . Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>,
	Baoquan He <bhe@...hat.com>,
	Jan H . Schönherr <jschoenh@...zon.de>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>
Cc: x86@...nel.org,
	linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
	virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
	xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-sparse@...r.kernel.org,
	kvm@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [RFC v3 22/27] x86/modules: Add option to start module section after kernel

Add an option so the module section is just after the mapped kernel. It
will ensure position independent modules are always at the right
distance from the kernel and do not require mcmodule=large. It also
optimize the available size for modules by getting rid of the empty
space on kernel randomization range.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
---
 Documentation/x86/x86_64/mm.txt         | 3 +++
 arch/x86/Kconfig                        | 4 ++++
 arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64_types.h | 6 +++++-
 arch/x86/kernel/head64.c                | 5 ++++-
 arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c           | 4 ++--
 5 files changed, 18 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/Documentation/x86/x86_64/mm.txt b/Documentation/x86/x86_64/mm.txt
index b0798e281aa6..b51d66386e32 100644
--- a/Documentation/x86/x86_64/mm.txt
+++ b/Documentation/x86/x86_64/mm.txt
@@ -73,4 +73,7 @@ Note that if CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_MEMORY is enabled, the direct mapping of all
 physical memory, vmalloc/ioremap space and virtual memory map are randomized.
 Their order is preserved but their base will be offset early at boot time.
 
+If CONFIG_DYNAMIC_MODULE_BASE is enabled, the module section follows the end of
+the mapped kernel.
+
 -Andi Kleen, Jul 2004
diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index 777197fab6dd..1e4b399c64e5 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -2133,6 +2133,10 @@ config RANDOMIZE_MEMORY_PHYSICAL_PADDING
 
 	   If unsure, leave at the default value.
 
+# Module section starts just after the end of the kernel module
+config DYNAMIC_MODULE_BASE
+	bool
+
 config X86_GLOBAL_STACKPROTECTOR
 	bool
 	depends on CC_STACKPROTECTOR
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64_types.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64_types.h
index 06470da156ba..e00fc429b898 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64_types.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64_types.h
@@ -6,6 +6,7 @@
 #ifndef __ASSEMBLY__
 #include <linux/types.h>
 #include <asm/kaslr.h>
+#include <asm/sections.h>
 
 /*
  * These are used to make use of C type-checking..
@@ -18,7 +19,6 @@ typedef unsigned long	pgdval_t;
 typedef unsigned long	pgprotval_t;
 
 typedef struct { pteval_t pte; } pte_t;
-
 #endif	/* !__ASSEMBLY__ */
 
 #define SHARED_KERNEL_PMD	0
@@ -93,7 +93,11 @@ typedef struct { pteval_t pte; } pte_t;
 #define VMEMMAP_START	__VMEMMAP_BASE
 #endif /* CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_MEMORY */
 #define VMALLOC_END	(VMALLOC_START + _AC((VMALLOC_SIZE_TB << 40) - 1, UL))
+#ifdef CONFIG_DYNAMIC_MODULE_BASE
+#define MODULES_VADDR   ALIGN(((unsigned long)_end + PAGE_SIZE), PMD_SIZE)
+#else
 #define MODULES_VADDR    (__START_KERNEL_map + KERNEL_IMAGE_SIZE)
+#endif
 /* The module sections ends with the start of the fixmap */
 #define MODULES_END   __fix_to_virt(__end_of_fixed_addresses + 1)
 #define MODULES_LEN   (MODULES_END - MODULES_VADDR)
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/head64.c b/arch/x86/kernel/head64.c
index 675f1dba3b21..b6363f0d11a7 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/head64.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/head64.c
@@ -321,12 +321,15 @@ asmlinkage __visible void __init x86_64_start_kernel(char * real_mode_data)
 	 * Build-time sanity checks on the kernel image and module
 	 * area mappings. (these are purely build-time and produce no code)
 	 */
+#ifndef CONFIG_DYNAMIC_MODULE_BASE
 	BUILD_BUG_ON(MODULES_VADDR < __START_KERNEL_map);
 	BUILD_BUG_ON(MODULES_VADDR - __START_KERNEL_map < KERNEL_IMAGE_SIZE);
-	BUILD_BUG_ON(MODULES_LEN + KERNEL_IMAGE_SIZE > 2*PUD_SIZE);
+	BUILD_BUG_ON(!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_BASE_LARGE) &&
+		     MODULES_LEN + KERNEL_IMAGE_SIZE > 2*PUD_SIZE);
 	BUILD_BUG_ON((__START_KERNEL_map & ~PMD_MASK) != 0);
 	BUILD_BUG_ON((MODULES_VADDR & ~PMD_MASK) != 0);
 	BUILD_BUG_ON(!(MODULES_VADDR > __START_KERNEL));
+#endif
 	BUILD_BUG_ON(!(((MODULES_END - 1) & PGDIR_MASK) ==
 				(__START_KERNEL & PGDIR_MASK)));
 	BUILD_BUG_ON(__fix_to_virt(__end_of_fixed_addresses) <= MODULES_END);
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c b/arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c
index 8691a57da63e..8565b2b45848 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c
@@ -95,7 +95,7 @@ static struct addr_marker address_markers[] = {
 	{ EFI_VA_END,		"EFI Runtime Services" },
 # endif
 	{ __START_KERNEL_map,   "High Kernel Mapping" },
-	{ MODULES_VADDR,        "Modules" },
+	{ 0/* MODULES_VADDR */,	"Modules" },
 	{ MODULES_END,          "End Modules" },
 #else
 	{ PAGE_OFFSET,          "Kernel Mapping" },
@@ -529,7 +529,7 @@ static int __init pt_dump_init(void)
 # endif
 	address_markers[FIXADDR_START_NR].start_address = FIXADDR_START;
 #endif
-
+	address_markers[MODULES_VADDR_NR].start_address = MODULES_VADDR;
 	return 0;
 }
 __initcall(pt_dump_init);
-- 
2.14.2.920.gcf0c67979c-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.