Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 6 Sep 2017 11:40:52 +0100
From: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
To: Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>
Cc: "linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, 
	Nicolas Pitre <nico@...aro.org>, Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, 
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>, 
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, 
	Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>, Dave Martin <dave.martin@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 00/29] implement KASLR for ARM

On 5 September 2017 at 22:31, Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org> wrote:
> On 5 September 2017 at 22:27, Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com> wrote:
>> * Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org> [170905 12:43]:
>>> Right. Well, I will try to reproduce with the BB white I have.
>>
>> Yeah that should be reproducable, I got it to happen on BBB here
>> after about 5 boots.
>>

Unfortunately, my BB white boots happily every time.

I have added DEBUG_UNCOMPRESS support to mach-omap2, and added some
debug output to the kaslr init routine

For example,

Starting kernel ...

regions.image_size:00e00000
regions.pa_start:80000000
regions.pa_end:90000000
regions.zimage_start:80200000
regions.zimage_size:00430228
regions.dtb_start:82000000
regions.dtb_size:00009000
num:00000016
*kaslr_offset:04400000
Uncompressing Linux... done, booting the kernel.
[    0.000000] Booting Linux on physical CPU 0x0
 ....
[    0.000000] Virtual kernel memory layout:
[    0.000000]     vector  : 0xffff0000 - 0xffff1000   (   4 kB)
[    0.000000]     fixmap  : 0xffc00000 - 0xfff00000   (3072 kB)
[    0.000000]     vmalloc : 0xd0000000 - 0xff800000   ( 760 MB)
[    0.000000]     lowmem  : 0xc0000000 - 0xcfe00000   ( 254 MB)
[    0.000000]     pkmap   : 0xbfe00000 - 0xc0000000   (   2 MB)
[    0.000000]     modules : 0xbf000000 - 0xbfe00000   (  14 MB)
[    0.000000]       .text : 0xc4408000 - 0xc4d00000   (9184 kB)
[    0.000000]       .init : 0xc5000000 - 0xc5100000   (1024 kB)
[    0.000000]       .data : 0xc5100000 - 0xc5149df0   ( 296 kB)
[    0.000000]        .bss : 0xc51cb000 - 0xc59a9a8c   (8059 kB)

I have pushed the changes to my arm-kaslr-v3 branch. If you are
willing to spend more cycles on this, could you please run it with
DEBUG_LL enabled, and capture the output of the failed boots?

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.