Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 5 Sep 2017 22:31:46 +0100
From: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
To: Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>
Cc: "linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, 
	Nicolas Pitre <nico@...aro.org>, Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, 
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>, 
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, 
	Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>, Dave Martin <dave.martin@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 00/29] implement KASLR for ARM

On 5 September 2017 at 22:27, Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com> wrote:
> * Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org> [170905 12:43]:
>> Right. Well, I will try to reproduce with the BB white I have.
>
> Yeah that should be reproducable, I got it to happen on BBB here
> after about 5 boots.
>
>> Are you booting with an initrd?
>
> Not on this one, on beagleboard xm I do.
>

Interesting.

>> >> > Then loading modules with CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_BASE=y seems to fail with:
>> >> >
>> >> > $ sudo modprobe rtc-twl
>> >> > rtc_twl: disagrees about version of symbol module_layout
>> >> > modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'rtc_twl': Exec format error
>> >> >
>> >>
>> >> Is this with CONFIG_MODVERSIONS enabled?
>> >
>> > Yes, but disabling that did not seem to make any difference
>> > based on just one test.
>> >
>>
>> Yeah, well, it appears I missed a couple of details :-)
>>
>> This should fix the module loading issues:
>
> Yeah now modprobe works :) That's after manually applying
> it as the tabs got munched in your patch somewhere, see below.
>

Yeah, Gmail tends to do that now and again. Apologies.

Thanks for confirming that the module loading works for you, I will
fold this into my v3.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.