Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 4 Sep 2017 14:25:13 -0400 (EDT)
From: Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>
To: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
cc: linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com, 
    Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, 
    Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>, 
    Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, 
    Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>, Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>, 
    Dave Martin <dave.martin@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 22/29] ARM: mm: export default vmalloc base address

On Sun, 3 Sep 2017, Ard Biesheuvel wrote:

> In order for the EFI stub to be able to decide over what range to
> randomize the load address of the kernel, expose the definition of
> the default vmalloc base address as VMALLOC_DEFAULT_BASE.
> 
> Cc: Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>
> Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>

Acked-by: Nicolas Pitre <nico@...aro.org>

> ---
>  arch/arm/include/asm/pgtable.h | 1 +
>  arch/arm/mm/mmu.c              | 3 +--
>  2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/arch/arm/include/asm/pgtable.h b/arch/arm/include/asm/pgtable.h
> index 1c462381c225..a0d4a63a6516 100644
> --- a/arch/arm/include/asm/pgtable.h
> +++ b/arch/arm/include/asm/pgtable.h
> @@ -45,6 +45,7 @@
>  #define VMALLOC_OFFSET		(8*1024*1024)
>  #define VMALLOC_START		(((unsigned long)high_memory + VMALLOC_OFFSET) & ~(VMALLOC_OFFSET-1))
>  #define VMALLOC_END		0xff800000UL
> +#define VMALLOC_DEFAULT_BASE	(VMALLOC_END - (240 << 20) - VMALLOC_OFFSET)
>  
>  #define LIBRARY_TEXT_START	0x0c000000
>  
> diff --git a/arch/arm/mm/mmu.c b/arch/arm/mm/mmu.c
> index e46a6a446cdd..566f7e657931 100644
> --- a/arch/arm/mm/mmu.c
> +++ b/arch/arm/mm/mmu.c
> @@ -1128,8 +1128,7 @@ void __init debug_ll_io_init(void)
>  }
>  #endif
>  
> -static void * __initdata vmalloc_min =
> -	(void *)(VMALLOC_END - (240 << 20) - VMALLOC_OFFSET);
> +static void * __initdata vmalloc_min = (void *)VMALLOC_DEFAULT_BASE;
>  
>  /*
>   * vmalloc=size forces the vmalloc area to be exactly 'size'
> -- 
> 2.11.0
> 
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.