Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 4 Sep 2017 14:24:36 -0400 (EDT)
From: Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>
To: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
cc: linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com, 
    Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, 
    Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>, 
    Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, 
    Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>, Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>, 
    Dave Martin <dave.martin@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 21/29] ARM: kernel: use PC relative symbol references
 in suspend/resume code

On Sun, 3 Sep 2017, Ard Biesheuvel wrote:

> Replace some unnecessary absolute references with relative ones. Also,
> to prepare for runtime relocation, which occurs with the caches on,
> defer taking the absolute address of cpu_resume_after_mmu() until after
> the MMU is enabled.
> 
> Cc: Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>
> Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>

What's the point of that last hunk? I understand you load the address 
after the mMU is on. But you should be coming back from a sleep and 
caches ought to be clean at that point. Not that it is a bad thing to do 
but I don't understand your reason for it.


> ---
>  arch/arm/kernel/sleep.S | 9 ++++-----
>  1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/arch/arm/kernel/sleep.S b/arch/arm/kernel/sleep.S
> index f4920b5d0fc4..5b02744f2f12 100644
> --- a/arch/arm/kernel/sleep.S
> +++ b/arch/arm/kernel/sleep.S
> @@ -60,15 +60,14 @@
>  ENTRY(__cpu_suspend)
>  	stmfd	sp!, {r4 - r11, lr}
>  #ifdef MULTI_CPU
> -	ldr	r10, =processor
> -	ldr	r4, [r10, #CPU_SLEEP_SIZE] @ size of CPU sleep state
> +	ldr_l	r4, processor + CPU_SLEEP_SIZE	@ size of CPU sleep state
>  #else
> -	ldr	r4, =cpu_suspend_size
> +	adr_l	r4, cpu_suspend_size
>  #endif
>  	mov	r5, sp			@ current virtual SP
>  	add	r4, r4, #12		@ Space for pgd, virt sp, phys resume fn
>  	sub	sp, sp, r4		@ allocate CPU state on stack
> -	ldr	r3, =sleep_save_sp
> +	adr_l	r3, sleep_save_sp
>  	stmfd	sp!, {r0, r1}		@ save suspend func arg and pointer
>  	ldr	r3, [r3, #SLEEP_SAVE_SP_VIRT]
>  	ALT_SMP(W(nop))			@ don't use adr_l inside ALT_SMP()
> @@ -101,13 +100,13 @@ ENDPROC(cpu_suspend_abort)
>  	.align	5
>  	.pushsection	.idmap.text,"ax"
>  ENTRY(cpu_resume_mmu)
> -	ldr	r3, =cpu_resume_after_mmu
>  	instr_sync
>  	mcr	p15, 0, r0, c1, c0, 0	@ turn on MMU, I-cache, etc
>  	mrc	p15, 0, r0, c0, c0, 0	@ read id reg
>  	instr_sync
>  	mov	r0, r0
>  	mov	r0, r0
> +	ldr	r3, =cpu_resume_after_mmu
>  	ret	r3			@ jump to virtual address
>  ENDPROC(cpu_resume_mmu)
>  	.popsection
> -- 
> 2.11.0
> 
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.