Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 21 Aug 2017 15:32:22 +0200
From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
To: Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>
Cc: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
	Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@...omium.org>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
	Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>, Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
	Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	"Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>,
	Christopher Li <sparse@...isli.org>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
	Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@...ux.intel.com>,
	Dou Liyang <douly.fnst@...fujitsu.com>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
	Markus Trippelsdorf <markus@...ppelsdorf.de>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	Waiman Long <longman@...hat.com>, Kyle Huey <me@...ehuey.com>,
	Peter Foley <pefoley2@...oley.com>,
	Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@...ux.intel.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
	Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@...rosoft.com>,
	"H . J . Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>, Paul Bolle <pebolle@...cali.nl>,
	Rob Landley <rob@...dley.net>, Baoquan He <bhe@...hat.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
	the arch/x86 maintainers <x86@...nel.org>,
	linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org, kvm list <kvm@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linux PM list <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>,
	linux-arch <linux-arch@...r.kernel.org>,
	linux-sparse@...r.kernel.org,
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>
Subject: Re: x86: PIE support and option to extend KASLR randomization

On Wed, Aug 16, 2017 at 05:12:35PM +0200, Ingo Molnar wrote:
> Unfortunately mcmodel=large looks pretty heavy too AFAICS, at the machine 
> instruction level.
> 
> Function calls look like this:
> 
>  -mcmodel=medium:
> 
>    757:   e8 98 ff ff ff          callq  6f4 <test_code>
> 
>  -mcmodel=large
> 
>    77b:   48 b8 10 f7 df ff ff    movabs $0xffffffffffdff710,%rax
>    782:   ff ff ff 
>    785:   48 8d 04 03             lea    (%rbx,%rax,1),%rax
>    789:   ff d0                   callq  *%rax
> 
> And we'd do this for _EVERY_ function call in the kernel. That kind of crap is 
> totally unacceptable.

So why does this need to be computed for every single call? How often
will we move the kernel around at runtime?

Why can't we process the relocation at load time and then discard the
relocation tables along with the rest of __init ?

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.