Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Sat, 13 May 2017 00:21:37 -0700
From: Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>
To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Cc: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
	Greg KH <greg@...ah.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
	Pavel Tikhomirov <ptikhomirov@...tuozzo.com>,
	linux-s390 <linux-s390@...r.kernel.org>,
	the arch/x86 maintainers <x86@...nel.org>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
	René Nyffenegger <mail@...enyffenegger.ch>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	"Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
	Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
	Linux API <linux-api@...r.kernel.org>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@....com>,
	"Eric W . Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>,
	Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>
Subject: Re: Re: [PATCH v9 1/4] syscalls: Verify address
 limit before returning to user-mode

On Fri, May 12, 2017 at 10:30:44PM +0200, Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> On stack variable length arrays get implemented by the compiler doing
> alloca(), and we sadly have a few of those around.

I've just got rid of one of those and I wish they would appear
entirely as they are horrible in so many different ways.  Sparse
warns about them, btw.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.