Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 8 Feb 2017 15:30:27 -0500
From: Dave Jones <davej@...emonkey.org.uk>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Xing Gao <xgao01@...il.wm.edu>, Jessica Frazelle <me@...sfraz.com>,
	John Stultz <john.stultz@...aro.org>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Lai Jiangshan <jiangshanlai@...il.com>,
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>,
	Nicolas Iooss <nicolas.iooss_linux@....org>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>,
	Richard Cochran <richardcochran@...il.com>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Michal Marek <mmarek@...e.com>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>, Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>,
	Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
	"open list:DOCUMENTATION" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	"kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com" <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2] time: Remove CONFIG_TIMER_STATS

On Wed, Feb 08, 2017 at 11:54:30AM -0800, Linus Torvalds wrote:
 > On Wed, Feb 8, 2017 at 11:26 AM, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
 > >
 > > Given that the tracer can give the same information, this patch entirely
 > > removes CONFIG_TIMER_STATS.
 > >
 > > Suggested-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
 > > Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
 > > Acked-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@...aro.org>
 > 
 > Looks good to me. Let's wait for the 4.11 merge window though. I'm
 > assuming I'll get this through the tip timer tree..

>From a quick look at the source, powertop uses this file, and appears to
handle it gracefully if it fails to open, but it will lose functionality
to determine if a timer is deferred.

	Dave

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.