Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 4 Jan 2017 15:53:19 -0600
From: Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...eos.com>
To: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, 
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>, 
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>, Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>, 
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>, Tomeu Vizoso <tomeu.vizoso@...labora.com>, 
	Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>, Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....com>, 
	Sudip Mukherjee <sudipm.mukherjee@...il.com>, Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>, 
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, 
	Russell King <rmk+kernel@....linux.org.uk>, Petr Tesarik <ptesarik@...e.com>, 
	linux-pm@...r.kernel.org, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH] Allow userspace control of runtime disabling/enabling of
 driver probing

Ugh let's try that again in plain text (How does the Android gmail
client still not get this right‽)

On Wed, Jan 4, 2017 at 2:47 PM, Greg Kroah-Hartman
<gregkh@...uxfoundation.org> wrote:
> On Wed, Jan 04, 2017 at 02:01:00PM -0600, Matthew Garrett wrote:
>> On Wed, Jan 4, 2017 at 1:47 PM, Greg Kroah-Hartman
>> <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org> wrote:
>> > You know the device type and vendor/product id before you authorize it,
>> > you should be able to do this type of detection otherwise it seems
>> > pretty pointless :)
>>
>> You know the vendor and product ID, which doesn't tell you whether one
>> of the endpoints is a network device or a keyboard. You need to know
>> that.
>
> Are you sure you don't have the configuration information as well?  That
> should tell you...

usb_choose_configuration() hasn't been called at this point, so no -
we don't create any device entries, so there's no way for userspace to
know anything (there isn't even a uevent on device plug). And even if
you could scrape the info, you still have no way of knowing what
configuration the kernel will choose if the device has multiple.

> And for network devices, they are almost all just vendor/product ids,
> not many use the class protocol.

Plenty of stuff uses CDC.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.