Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 4 Jan 2017 21:47:04 +0100
From: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
To: Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...eos.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
	Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>,
	Tomeu Vizoso <tomeu.vizoso@...labora.com>,
	Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>,
	Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....com>,
	Sudip Mukherjee <sudipm.mukherjee@...il.com>,
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Russell King <rmk+kernel@....linux.org.uk>,
	Petr Tesarik <ptesarik@...e.com>, linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH] Allow userspace control of runtime disabling/enabling of
 driver probing

On Wed, Jan 04, 2017 at 02:01:00PM -0600, Matthew Garrett wrote:
> On Wed, Jan 4, 2017 at 1:47 PM, Greg Kroah-Hartman
> <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org> wrote:
> > You know the device type and vendor/product id before you authorize it,
> > you should be able to do this type of detection otherwise it seems
> > pretty pointless :)
> 
> You know the vendor and product ID, which doesn't tell you whether one
> of the endpoints is a network device or a keyboard. You need to know
> that.

Are you sure you don't have the configuration information as well?  That
should tell you...

And for network devices, they are almost all just vendor/product ids,
not many use the class protocol.

thanks,

greg k-h

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.