Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Sun, 21 Apr 2013 12:46:24 -0700
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"x86@...nel.org" <x86@...nel.org>, 
	"kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com" <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, 
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, David Woodhouse <David.Woodhouse@...el.com>, 
	Jiri Kosina <jkosina@...e.cz>, Olaf Hering <olaf@...fle.de>, Yinghai Lu <yinghai@...nel.org>, 
	Matt Fleming <matt.fleming@...el.com>, Gokul Caushik <caushik1@...il.com>, 
	Josh Triplett <josh@...htriplett.org>, Joe Millenbach <jmillenbach@...il.com>, 
	Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@...el.com>, Jacob Shin <jacob.shin@....com>, 
	Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>, Eric Northup <digitaleric@...gle.com>, 
	Dan Rosenberg <drosenberg@...curity.com>, Julien Tinnes <jln@...gle.com>, 
	Will Drewry <wad@...omium.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] x86: kaslr: move ELF relocation handling to C

On Sun, Apr 21, 2013 at 2:13 AM, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org> wrote:
>
> * Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
>
>> Moves the relocation handling into C, after decompression. Only
>> kernels that need relocation support will use the code. The new
>> CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_BASE does not yet do anything except turn on this logic
>> for 64-bit kernels.
>
> So why not keep the inactive CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_BASE hunks in a separate
> patch, and just have this one clean, orthogonal patch that moves
> relocation handling into C?

I had wanted there to be a way to test building with 64-bit
relocations. With this patch and CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_BASE=y, I could do
that. Would you rather I remove those pieces?

-Kees

--
Kees Cook
Chrome OS Security

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.