Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Sun, 21 Apr 2013 11:13:42 +0200
From: Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	x86@...nel.org, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	David Woodhouse <David.Woodhouse@...el.com>,
	Jiri Kosina <jkosina@...e.cz>, Olaf Hering <olaf@...fle.de>,
	Yinghai Lu <yinghai@...nel.org>,
	Matt Fleming <matt.fleming@...el.com>,
	Gokul Caushik <caushik1@...il.com>,
	Josh Triplett <josh@...htriplett.org>,
	Joe Millenbach <jmillenbach@...il.com>,
	Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@...el.com>,
	Jacob Shin <jacob.shin@....com>, Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>,
	Eric Northup <digitaleric@...gle.com>,
	Dan Rosenberg <drosenberg@...curity.com>,
	Julien Tinnes <jln@...gle.com>, Will Drewry <wad@...omium.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] x86: kaslr: move ELF relocation handling to C


* Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:

> Moves the relocation handling into C, after decompression. Only
> kernels that need relocation support will use the code. The new
> CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_BASE does not yet do anything except turn on this logic
> for 64-bit kernels.

So why not keep the inactive CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_BASE hunks in a separate 
patch, and just have this one clean, orthogonal patch that moves 
relocation handling into C?

Thanks,

	Ingo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.