Follow @Openwall on Twitter for new release announcements and other news
[<prev] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 27 Jul 2022 20:47:41 +0300
From: Alexey Khoroshilov <khoroshilov@...ras.ru>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>,
 Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
 Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
 Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
 Joerg Roedel <jroedel@...e.de>, Maciej Rozycki <macro@...am.me.uk>,
 Muchun Song <songmuchun@...edance.com>,
 Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>, Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
 Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>, Lu Baolu <baolu.lu@...ux.intel.com>,
 Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
 Wei Liu <wl@....org>, John Ogness <john.ogness@...utronix.de>,
 Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>,
 Alexey Kardashevskiy <aik@...abs.ru>,
 Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@...roup.eu>, Jann Horn
 <jannh@...gle.com>, Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
 Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
 Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
 Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>, Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
 Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, Ard Biesheuvel
 <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
 David S Miller <davem@...emloft.net>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
 Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
 linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org,
 "open list:DOCUMENTATION" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
 Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, notify@...nel.org,
 ldv-project@...uxtesting.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] Introduce the pkill_on_warn boot parameter

On 27.07.2022 19:42, Linus Torvalds wrote:
> On Wed, Jul 27, 2022 at 9:17 AM Alexey Khoroshilov
> <khoroshilov@...ras.ru> wrote:
>>
>> We see a number of cases where WARNING is used to inform userspace that
>> it is doing something wrong, e.g.
>> https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.19-rc8/source/net/can/j1939/socket.c#L181
>> https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.19-rc8/source/drivers/video/fbdev/core/fbmem.c#L1023
> 
> That first case is entirely bogus.
> 
> WARN_ON() should only be used for "This cannot happen, but if it does,
> I want to know how we got here".
> 
> But the second case is fine: Using "pr_warn()" is fine. A kernel
> warning (without a backtrace) is a normal thing for something that is
> deprecated or questionable, and you want to tell the user that "this
> app is doing something wrong".

Agree with the only note that I like the requirement:

* Do not include "BUG"/"WARNING" in format strings manually to make
* these conditions distinguishable from kernel issues.

very much.

Thank you,
Alexey

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.