Follow @Openwall on Twitter for new release announcements and other news
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 22 Feb 2021 16:12:11 +0100
From: Romain Perier <romain.perier@...il.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Zefan Li <lizefan.x@...edance.com>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@...xchg.org>,
	Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Jiri Pirko <jiri@...dia.com>,
	Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>,
	Christian K├Ânig <christian.koenig@....com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.ibm.com>,
	Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@...il.com>,
	"J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@...ldses.org>,
	Chuck Lever <chuck.lever@...cle.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@...ux-m68k.org>,
	Jessica Yu <jeyu@...nel.org>,
	Guenter Roeck <linux@...ck-us.net>,
	Heiko Carstens <hca@...ux.ibm.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@...ux.ibm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
	Steffen Maier <maier@...ux.ibm.com>,
	Benjamin Block <bblock@...ux.ibm.com>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
	Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>,
	Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	Jiri Slaby <jirislaby@...nel.org>,
	Felipe Balbi <balbi@...nel.org>,
	Valentina Manea <valentina.manea.m@...il.com>,
	Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
	Shuah Khan <skhan@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Wim Van Sebroeck <wim@...ux-watchdog.org>
Cc: Romain Perier <romain.perier@...il.com>,
	cgroups@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-media@...r.kernel.org,
	dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
	linaro-mm-sig@...ts.linaro.org,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
	linux-integrity@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-nfs@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-m68k@...ts.linux-m68k.org,
	linux-hwmon@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-s390@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-scsi@...r.kernel.org,
	target-devel@...r.kernel.org,
	alsa-devel@...a-project.org,
	linux-usb@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-watchdog@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH 00/20] Manual replacement of all strlcpy in favor of strscpy

strlcpy() copy a C-String into a sized buffer, the result is always a
valid NULL-terminated that fits in the buffer, howerver it has severals
issues. It reads the source buffer first, which is dangerous if it is non
NULL-terminated or if the corresponding buffer is unbounded. Its safe
replacement is strscpy(), as suggested in the deprecated interface [1].

We plan to make this contribution in two steps:
- Firsly all cases of strlcpy's return value are manually replaced by the
  corresponding calls of strscpy() with the new handling of the return
  value (as the return code is different in case of error).
- Then all other cases are automatically replaced by using coccinelle.

This series covers manual replacements.

[1] https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/process/deprecated.html#strlcpy

Romain Perier (20):
  cgroup: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return
    values
  crypto: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return
    values
  devlink: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return
    values
  dma-buf: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return
    values
  kobject: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return
    values
  ima: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return values
  SUNRPC: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return
    values
  kernfs: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return
    values
  m68k/atari: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return
    values
  module: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return
    values
  hwmon: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return
    values
  s390/hmcdrv: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with
    return values
  scsi: zfcp: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return
    values
  target: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return
    values
  ALSA: usb-audio: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with
    return values
  tracing/probe: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with
    return values
  vt: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with return values
  usb: gadget: f_midi: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy()
    with return values
  usbip: usbip_host: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with
    return values
  s390/watchdog: Manual replacement of the deprecated strlcpy() with
    return values

 arch/m68k/emu/natfeat.c                 |  6 +--
 crypto/lrw.c                            |  6 +--
 crypto/xts.c                            |  6 +--
 drivers/dma-buf/dma-buf.c               |  4 +-
 drivers/hwmon/pmbus/max20730.c          | 66 +++++++++++++------------
 drivers/s390/char/diag_ftp.c            |  4 +-
 drivers/s390/char/sclp_ftp.c            |  6 +--
 drivers/s390/scsi/zfcp_fc.c             |  8 +--
 drivers/target/target_core_configfs.c   | 33 ++++---------
 drivers/tty/vt/keyboard.c               |  5 +-
 drivers/usb/gadget/function/f_midi.c    |  4 +-
 drivers/usb/gadget/function/f_printer.c |  8 +--
 drivers/usb/usbip/stub_main.c           |  6 +--
 drivers/watchdog/diag288_wdt.c          | 12 +++--
 fs/kernfs/dir.c                         | 27 +++++-----
 kernel/cgroup/cgroup.c                  |  2 +-
 kernel/module.c                         |  4 +-
 kernel/trace/trace_uprobe.c             | 11 ++---
 lib/kobject_uevent.c                    |  6 +--
 net/core/devlink.c                      |  6 +--
 net/sunrpc/clnt.c                       |  6 ++-
 security/integrity/ima/ima_policy.c     |  8 ++-
 sound/usb/card.c                        |  4 +-
 23 files changed, 129 insertions(+), 119 deletions(-)

-- 
2.20.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.