Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 23 Jan 2020 09:14:20 +0100
From: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
 Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>,
 Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>, David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
 Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>,
 Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, linux-mm@...ck.org,
 linux-xfs@...r.kernel.org, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
 Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
 Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>, "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
 Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
 "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
 Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
 Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
 Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>,
 Dave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@...cle.com>, Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
 Luis de Bethencourt <luisbg@...nel.org>, Marc Zyngier
 <marc.zyngier@....com>, Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
 Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...gle.com>, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-arch@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
 kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com, Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
 Michal Kubecek <mkubecek@...e.cz>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 09/38] usercopy: Mark kmalloc caches as
 usercopy caches

On 14. 11. 19, 22:27, Kees Cook wrote:
> On Tue, Nov 12, 2019 at 01:21:54PM -0800, Kees Cook wrote:
>> How is iucv the only network protocol that has run into this? Do others
>> use a bounce buffer?
> 
> Another solution would be to use a dedicated kmem cache (instead of the
> shared kmalloc dma one)?

Has there been any conclusion to this thread yet? For the time being, we
disabled HARDENED_USERCOPY on s390...

https://lore.kernel.org/kernel-hardening/9519edb7-456a-a2fa-659e-3e5a1ff89466@suse.cz/

thanks,
-- 
js
suse labs

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.