Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 16 Jan 2020 13:45:09 -0800
From: Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>
To: Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>, 
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>, Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>, 
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@....com>, 
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>, 
	Marc Zyngier <maz@...nel.org>, Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>, 
	Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@...il.com>, 
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>, 
	clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, 
	linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 08/15] arm64: disable function graph tracing with SCS

On Thu, Jan 16, 2020 at 9:39 AM Will Deacon <will@...nel.org> wrote:
>
> On Fri, Dec 06, 2019 at 02:13:44PM -0800, Sami Tolvanen wrote:
> > diff --git a/arch/arm64/Kconfig b/arch/arm64/Kconfig
> > index b1b4476ddb83..49e5f94ff4af 100644
> > --- a/arch/arm64/Kconfig
> > +++ b/arch/arm64/Kconfig
> > @@ -149,7 +149,7 @@ config ARM64
> >       select HAVE_FTRACE_MCOUNT_RECORD
> >       select HAVE_FUNCTION_TRACER
> >       select HAVE_FUNCTION_ERROR_INJECTION
> > -     select HAVE_FUNCTION_GRAPH_TRACER
> > +     select HAVE_FUNCTION_GRAPH_TRACER if !SHADOW_CALL_STACK
> >       select HAVE_GCC_PLUGINS
> >       select HAVE_HW_BREAKPOINT if PERF_EVENTS
> >       select HAVE_IRQ_TIME_ACCOUNTING
>
> I think this is the wrong way around, as we support the graph tracer
> today and so I think SHADOW_CALL_STACK should depend on !GRAPH_TRACER
> and possibly even EXPERT until this is resolved.

Sure, sounds reasonable. I'll change this in the next version.

Sami

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.