Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 16 Jan 2020 12:16:53 -0800
From: Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>
To: Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>, 
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>, Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>, 
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@....com>, 
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>, 
	Marc Zyngier <maz@...nel.org>, Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>, 
	Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@...il.com>, 
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>, 
	clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, 
	linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 13/15] arm64: disable SCS for hypervisor code

On Thu, Jan 16, 2020 at 9:47 AM Will Deacon <will@...nel.org> wrote:
>
> On Fri, Dec 06, 2019 at 02:13:49PM -0800, Sami Tolvanen wrote:
> > Filter out CC_FLAGS_SCS for code that runs at a different exception
> > level.
> >
> > Suggested-by: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@...dmis.org>
> > Signed-off-by: Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>
> > Reviewed-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
> > Reviewed-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
> > ---
> >  arch/arm64/kvm/hyp/Makefile | 3 +++
> >  1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)
> >
> > diff --git a/arch/arm64/kvm/hyp/Makefile b/arch/arm64/kvm/hyp/Makefile
> > index ea710f674cb6..17ea3da325e9 100644
> > --- a/arch/arm64/kvm/hyp/Makefile
> > +++ b/arch/arm64/kvm/hyp/Makefile
> > @@ -28,3 +28,6 @@ GCOV_PROFILE        := n
> >  KASAN_SANITIZE       := n
> >  UBSAN_SANITIZE       := n
> >  KCOV_INSTRUMENT      := n
> > +
> > +# remove the SCS flags from all objects in this directory
> > +KBUILD_CFLAGS := $(filter-out $(CC_FLAGS_SCS), $(KBUILD_CFLAGS))
>
> Same comment as for the vDSO; can we remove the -ffixed-x18 as well?

Sure, I don't see why not. I'll change this in the next version.

Sami

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.