Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 16 Jan 2020 17:46:49 +0000
From: Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>
To: Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@....com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>, Marc Zyngier <maz@...nel.org>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
	Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
	Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@...il.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
	clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 12/15] arm64: vdso: disable Shadow Call Stack

On Fri, Dec 06, 2019 at 02:13:48PM -0800, Sami Tolvanen wrote:
> Shadow stacks are only available in the kernel, so disable SCS
> instrumentation for the vDSO.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>
> Reviewed-by: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>
> Reviewed-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
> Reviewed-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
> ---
>  arch/arm64/kernel/vdso/Makefile | 2 +-
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/vdso/Makefile b/arch/arm64/kernel/vdso/Makefile
> index dd2514bb1511..a87a4f11724e 100644
> --- a/arch/arm64/kernel/vdso/Makefile
> +++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/vdso/Makefile
> @@ -25,7 +25,7 @@ ccflags-y += -DDISABLE_BRANCH_PROFILING
>  
>  VDSO_LDFLAGS := -Bsymbolic
>  
> -CFLAGS_REMOVE_vgettimeofday.o = $(CC_FLAGS_FTRACE) -Os
> +CFLAGS_REMOVE_vgettimeofday.o = $(CC_FLAGS_FTRACE) -Os $(CC_FLAGS_SCS)

Should we be removing -ffixed-x18 too, or does that not propagate here
anyway?

Will

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.