Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 16 Jan 2020 17:37:40 +0000
From: Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>
To: Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@....com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>, Marc Zyngier <maz@...nel.org>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
	Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
	Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@...il.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
	clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 09/15] arm64: reserve x18 from general allocation with
 SCS

On Fri, Dec 06, 2019 at 02:13:45PM -0800, Sami Tolvanen wrote:
> Reserve the x18 register from general allocation when SCS is enabled,
> because the compiler uses the register to store the current task's
> shadow stack pointer. Note that all external kernel modules must also be
> compiled with -ffixed-x18 if the kernel has SCS enabled.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>
> Reviewed-by: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>
> Reviewed-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
> ---
>  arch/arm64/Makefile | 4 ++++
>  1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)

Acked-by: Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>

Will

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.