Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 16 May 2019 18:26:22 -0700
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>
Cc: akpm@...ux-foundation.org, cl@...ux.com,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
	James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
	Sandeep Patil <sspatil@...roid.com>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>, Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, linux-mm@...ck.org,
	linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/4] mm: security: introduce init_on_alloc=1 and
 init_on_free=1 boot options

On Tue, May 14, 2019 at 04:35:34PM +0200, Alexander Potapenko wrote:
> [...]
> diff --git a/mm/slab.h b/mm/slab.h
> index 43ac818b8592..24ae887359b8 100644
> --- a/mm/slab.h
> +++ b/mm/slab.h
> @@ -524,4 +524,20 @@ static inline int cache_random_seq_create(struct kmem_cache *cachep,
> [...]
> +static inline bool slab_want_init_on_free(struct kmem_cache *c)
> +{
> +	if (static_branch_unlikely(&init_on_free))
> +		return !(c->ctor);

BTW, why is this checking for c->ctor here? Shouldn't it not matter for
the free case?

> +	else
> +		return false;
> +}

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.