Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 17 May 2019 08:59:39 -0700
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
	James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
	Sandeep Patil <sspatil@...roid.com>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>, Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Linux Memory Management List <linux-mm@...ck.org>,
	linux-security-module <linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 5/4] mm: Introduce SLAB_NO_FREE_INIT and mark excluded
 caches

On Fri, May 17, 2019 at 10:34:26AM +0200, Alexander Potapenko wrote:
> On Fri, May 17, 2019 at 2:50 AM Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
> >
> > In order to improve the init_on_free performance, some frequently
> > freed caches with less sensitive contents can be excluded from the
> > init_on_free behavior.
> Did you see any notable performance improvement with this patch?
> A similar one gave me only 1-2% on the parallel Linux build.

Yup, that's in the other thread. I saw similar. But 1-2% on a 5% hit is
a lot. ;)

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.