Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 6 May 2019 16:50:59 -0300
From: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@...nel.org>
To: Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
 Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, Mike Snitzer <snitzer@...hat.com>, Mauro
 Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...radead.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
 Johannes Berg <johannes@...solutions.net>, Kurt Schwemmer
 <kurt.schwemmer@...rosemi.com>, Logan Gunthorpe <logang@...tatee.com>,
 Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>, Alasdair Kergon <agk@...hat.com>,
 dm-devel@...hat.com, Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@...com>, Rob Herring
 <robh+dt@...nel.org>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, Bartlomiej
 Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@...sung.com>, David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
 Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>, Maarten Lankhorst
 <maarten.lankhorst@...ux.intel.com>, Maxime Ripard
 <maxime.ripard@...tlin.com>, Sean Paul <sean@...rly.run>, Ning Sun
 <ning.sun@...el.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Will Deacon
 <will.deacon@....com>, Alan Stern <stern@...land.harvard.edu>, Andrea Parri
 <andrea.parri@...rulasolutions.com>, Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@...il.com>,
 Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>, David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
 Jade Alglave <j.alglave@....ac.uk>, Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@...ia.fr>,
 "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.ibm.com>, Akira Yokosawa
 <akiyks@...il.com>, Daniel Lustig <dlustig@...dia.com>, "David S. Miller"
 <davem@...emloft.net>, Andreas Färber <afaerber@...e.de>,
 Manivannan Sadhasivam <manivannan.sadhasivam@...aro.org>, Cornelia Huck
 <cohuck@...hat.com>, Farhan Ali <alifm@...ux.ibm.com>, Eric Farman
 <farman@...ux.ibm.com>, Halil Pasic <pasic@...ux.ibm.com>, Martin
 Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens
 <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>, Harry Wei <harryxiyou@...il.com>, Alex Shi
 <alex.shi@...ux.alibaba.com>, Jerry Hoemann <jerry.hoemann@....com>, Wim
 Van Sebroeck <wim@...ux-watchdog.org>, Guenter Roeck <linux@...ck-us.net>,
 Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
 x86@...nel.org, Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, Tony Luck
 <tony.luck@...el.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@...el.com>, "James E.J.
 Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@...senPartnership.com>, Helge Deller
 <deller@....de>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@...rs.sourceforge.jp>, Rich Felker
 <dalias@...c.org>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@....edu.cn>, Jens Axboe
 <axboe@...nel.dk>, Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, "Rafael
 J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Matt
 Mackall <mpm@...enic.com>, Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>, Corey
 Minyard <minyard@....org>, Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>, Linus
 Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>, Bartosz Golaszewski
 <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>, Darren Hart <dvhart@...radead.org>, Andy
 Shevchenko <andy@...radead.org>, Stuart Hayes <stuart.w.hayes@...il.com>,
 Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>, Alex Williamson
 <alex.williamson@...hat.com>, Kirti Wankhede <kwankhede@...dia.com>,
 Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>, Marek Szyprowski
 <m.szyprowski@...sung.com>, Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>, Steffen
 Klassert <steffen.klassert@...unet.com>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
 Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>, James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>, "Serge
 E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>, linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-pci@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
 dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org, linux-fbdev@...r.kernel.org,
 tboot-devel@...ts.sourceforge.net, linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
 netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
 linux-s390@...r.kernel.org, kvm@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-watchdog@...r.kernel.org, linux-ia64@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org, linux-sh@...r.kernel.org,
 sparclinux@...r.kernel.org, linux-block@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org, openipmi-developer@...ts.sourceforge.net,
 linaro-mm-sig@...ts.linaro.org, linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org,
 platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org, iommu@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
 linux-mm@...ck.org, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
 linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org, Changbin Du <changbin.du@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 56/79] docs: Documentation/*.txt: rename all ReST
 files to *.rst

Em Wed, 24 Apr 2019 08:52:09 +0200
Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org> escreveu:

> On Tue, Apr 23, 2019 at 11:38:16PM +0200, Borislav Petkov wrote:
> > If that is all the changes it would need, then I guess that's ok. Btw,
> > those rst-conversion patches don't really show what got changed. Dunno
> > if git can even show that properly. I diffed the two files by hand to
> > see what got changed, see end of mail.  
> 
> That is not a happy diff; that table has gotten waay worse to read due
> to all that extra table crap.

Not that I'm proposing such change, but, as a reference, I just discovered 
today that there's a way to make it even lighter than it is while still
showing it as a table:

=================  ======== ==   ================  ===== ==  ===========================================================
    Start addr        Offset        End addr         Size    VM area description
-----------------  -----------   ----------------  --------  -----------------------------------------------------------
 0000000000000000      0         00007fffffffffff    128 TB   user-space virtual memory, different per mm

 0000800000000000   +128    TB   ffff7fffffffffff   ~16M TB   ... huge, almost 64 bits wide hole of non-canonical
                                                                  virtual memory addresses up to the -128 TB
                                                                  starting offset of kernel mappings.

-----------------  -------- --   ----------------  ----- --  -----------------------------------------------------------
-                                                            Kernel-space virtual memory, shared between all processes:
-----------------  -----------   ----------------  --------  -----------------------------------------------------------

 ffff800000000000   -128    TB   ffff87ffffffffff      8 TB   ... guard hole, also reserved for hypervisor
 ffff880000000000   -120    TB   ffff887fffffffff    0.5 TB   LDT remap for PTI
 ffff888000000000   -119.5  TB   ffffc87fffffffff     64 TB   direct mapping of all physical memory (page_offset_base)
 ffffc88000000000    -55.5  TB   ffffc8ffffffffff    0.5 TB   ... unused hole
 ffffc90000000000    -55    TB   ffffe8ffffffffff     32 TB   vmalloc/ioremap space (vmalloc_base)
 ffffe90000000000    -23    TB   ffffe9ffffffffff      1 TB   ... unused hole
 ffffea0000000000    -22    TB   ffffeaffffffffff      1 TB   virtual memory map (vmemmap_base)
 ffffeb0000000000    -21    TB   ffffebffffffffff      1 TB   ... unused hole
 ffffec0000000000    -20    TB   fffffbffffffffff     16 TB   KASAN shadow memory
-----------------  -------- --   ----------------  ----- --  -----------------------------------------------------------
-                                                            Identical layout to the 56-bit one from here on:
-----------------  -----------   ----------------  --------  -----------------------------------------------------------

 fffffc0000000000     -4    TB   fffffdffffffffff      2 TB   ... unused hole
                                                              vaddr_end for KASLR
 fffffe0000000000     -2    TB   fffffe7fffffffff    0.5 TB   cpu_entry_area mapping
 fffffe8000000000     -1.5  TB   fffffeffffffffff    0.5 TB   ... unused hole
 ffffff0000000000     -1    TB   ffffff7fffffffff    0.5 TB   %esp fixup stacks
 ffffff8000000000   -512    GB   ffffffeeffffffff    444 GB   ... unused hole
 ffffffef00000000    -68    GB   fffffffeffffffff     64 GB   EFI region mapping space
 ffffffff00000000     -4    GB   ffffffff7fffffff      2 GB   ... unused hole
 ffffffff80000000     -2    GB   ffffffff9fffffff    512 MB   kernel text mapping, mapped to physical address 0
 ffffffff80000000  -2048    MB
 ffffffffa0000000  -1536    MB   fffffffffeffffff   1520 MB   module mapping space
 ffffffffff000000    -16    MB
    FIXADDR_START   ~-11    MB   ffffffffff5fffff   ~0.5 MB   kernel-internal fixmap range, variable size and offset
 ffffffffff600000    -10    MB   ffffffffff600fff      4 kB   legacy vsyscall ABI
 ffffffffffe00000     -2    MB   ffffffffffffffff      2 MB   ... unused hole
=================  ======== ==   ================  ===== ==  ===========================================================

If one wants the table headers as such, an extra line is required:


=================  ======== ==   ================  ===== ==  ===========================================================
    Start addr        Offset        End addr         Size    VM area description
-----------------  -----------   ----------------  --------  -----------------------------------------------------------
=================  ======== ==   ================  ===== ==  ===========================================================

<snip/>

=================  ======== ==   ================  ===== ==  ===========================================================


The output using this approach and a markup to use mono-spaced cells
e. g. either using ..raw or using .. cssclass as commented before in
this thread is at:

	https://www.infradead.org/~mchehab/rst_conversion/x86/x86_64/mm_alternative.html

Just converted the first table, keeping the other as a literal block.

Thanks,
Mauro

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.