Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 24 Apr 2019 16:54:10 +0200
From: Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>
To: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@...nel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Mike Snitzer <snitzer@...hat.com>,
	Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...radead.org>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	Johannes Berg <johannes@...solutions.net>,
	Kurt Schwemmer <kurt.schwemmer@...rosemi.com>,
	Logan Gunthorpe <logang@...tatee.com>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>,
	Alasdair Kergon <agk@...hat.com>, dm-devel@...hat.com,
	Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@...com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@...sung.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>, Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@...ux.intel.com>,
	Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@...tlin.com>,
	Sean Paul <sean@...rly.run>, Ning Sun <ning.sun@...el.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	Alan Stern <stern@...land.harvard.edu>,
	Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@...rulasolutions.com>,
	Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@...il.com>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	Jade Alglave <j.alglave@....ac.uk>,
	Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@...ia.fr>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.ibm.com>,
	Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@...il.com>,
	Daniel Lustig <dlustig@...dia.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Andreas Färber <afaerber@...e.de>,
	Manivannan Sadhasivam <manivannan.sadhasivam@...aro.org>,
	Cornelia Huck <cohuck@...hat.com>, Farhan Ali <alifm@...ux.ibm.com>,
	Eric Farman <farman@...ux.ibm.com>,
	Halil Pasic <pasic@...ux.ibm.com>,
	Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
	Harry Wei <harryxiyou@...il.com>,
	Alex Shi <alex.shi@...ux.alibaba.com>,
	Jerry Hoemann <jerry.hoemann@....com>,
	Wim Van Sebroeck <wim@...ux-watchdog.org>,
	Guenter Roeck <linux@...ck-us.net>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, x86@...nel.org,
	Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
	Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@...el.com>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@...senPartnership.com>,
	Helge Deller <deller@....de>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@...rs.sourceforge.jp>,
	Rich Felker <dalias@...c.org>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@....edu.cn>,
	Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Matt Mackall <mpm@...enic.com>,
	Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
	Corey Minyard <minyard@....org>,
	Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>,
	Darren Hart <dvhart@...radead.org>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andy@...radead.org>,
	Stuart Hayes <stuart.w.hayes@...il.com>,
	Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@...hat.com>,
	Kirti Wankhede <kwankhede@...dia.com>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>,
	Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@...sung.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
	Steffen Klassert <steffen.klassert@...unet.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>,
	James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>,
	linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org, linux-pci@...r.kernel.org,
	devicetree@...r.kernel.org, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
	linux-fbdev@...r.kernel.org, tboot-devel@...ts.sourceforge.net,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-s390@...r.kernel.org,
	kvm@...r.kernel.org, linux-watchdog@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-ia64@...r.kernel.org, linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-sh@...r.kernel.org, sparclinux@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-block@...r.kernel.org, linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org,
	openipmi-developer@...ts.sourceforge.net,
	linaro-mm-sig@...ts.linaro.org, linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org,
	platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org,
	iommu@...ts.linux-foundation.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org,
	Changbin Du <changbin.du@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 56/79] docs: Documentation/*.txt: rename all ReST
 files to *.rst

On Wed, Apr 24, 2019 at 07:40:07AM -0300, Mauro Carvalho Chehab wrote:
> Personally, I don't care much with monospaced fonts on this table. After
> all, if I want to see it monospaced, I can simply click at the
> "View page source" at the browser, and it will display the file as a
> plain old monospaced text file.

Goes to show why kernel people wouldn't want to look at that in
the browser. Long hex numbers are hard to read as it is - that's
why there's even the 4-digit separator in some docs, for example:
0xffff_ffff_8100_0000.

Not having it monospaced makes the whole thing even less readable.

That's why it is important for the markup not to get in the way of
people looking at those files in an editor.

-- 
Regards/Gruss,
    Boris.

Good mailing practices for 400: avoid top-posting and trim the reply.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.