Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 23 Apr 2019 10:30:53 -0600
From: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>
To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@...hat.com>, Mauro Carvalho Chehab
 <mchehab+samsung@...nel.org>, Linux Doc Mailing List
 <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>, Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...radead.org>,
 linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Johannes Berg <johannes@...solutions.net>,
 Kurt Schwemmer <kurt.schwemmer@...rosemi.com>, Logan Gunthorpe
 <logang@...tatee.com>, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>, Alasdair Kergon
 <agk@...hat.com>, dm-devel@...hat.com, Kishon Vijay Abraham I
 <kishon@...com>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>, Mark Rutland
 <mark.rutland@....com>, Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz
 <b.zolnierkie@...sung.com>, David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>, Daniel Vetter
 <daniel@...ll.ch>, Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@...ux.intel.com>,
 Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@...tlin.com>, Sean Paul <sean@...rly.run>,
 Ning Sun <ning.sun@...el.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Will Deacon
 <will.deacon@....com>, Alan Stern <stern@...land.harvard.edu>, Andrea Parri
 <andrea.parri@...rulasolutions.com>, Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@...il.com>,
 Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>, David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
 Jade Alglave <j.alglave@....ac.uk>, Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@...ia.fr>,
 "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.ibm.com>, Akira Yokosawa
 <akiyks@...il.com>, Daniel Lustig <dlustig@...dia.com>, "David S. Miller"
 <davem@...emloft.net>, Andreas Färber <afaerber@...e.de>,
 Manivannan Sadhasivam <manivannan.sadhasivam@...aro.org>, Cornelia Huck
 <cohuck@...hat.com>, Farhan Ali <alifm@...ux.ibm.com>, Eric Farman
 <farman@...ux.ibm.com>, Halil Pasic <pasic@...ux.ibm.com>, Martin
 Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens
 <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>, Harry Wei <harryxiyou@...il.com>, Alex Shi
 <alex.shi@...ux.alibaba.com>, Jerry Hoemann <jerry.hoemann@....com>, Wim
 Van Sebroeck <wim@...ux-watchdog.org>, Guenter Roeck <linux@...ck-us.net>,
 Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>, "H.
 Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, x86@...nel.org, Russell King
 <linux@...linux.org.uk>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>, Fenghua Yu
 <fenghua.yu@...el.com>, "James E.J. Bottomley"
 <James.Bottomley@...senPartnership.com>, Helge Deller <deller@....de>,
 Yoshinori Sato <ysato@...rs.sourceforge.jp>, Rich Felker <dalias@...c.org>,
 Guan Xuetao <gxt@....edu.cn>, Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>, Greg
 Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, "Rafael J. Wysocki"
 <rafael@...nel.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Matt Mackall
 <mpm@...enic.com>, Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>, Corey Minyard
 <minyard@....org>, Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>, Linus Walleij
 <linus.walleij@...aro.org>, Bartosz Golaszewski
 <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>, Darren Hart <dvhart@...radead.org>, Andy
 Shevchenko <andy@...radead.org>, Stuart Hayes <stuart.w.hayes@...il.com>,
 Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>, Alex Williamson
 <alex.williamson@...hat.com>, Kirti Wankhede <kwankhede@...dia.com>,
 Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>, Marek Szyprowski
 <m.szyprowski@...sung.com>, Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>, Steffen
 Klassert <steffen.klassert@...unet.com>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
 Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>, James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>, "Serge
 E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>, linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-pci@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
 dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org, linux-fbdev@...r.kernel.org,
 tboot-devel@...ts.sourceforge.net, linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
 netdev@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
 linux-s390@...r.kernel.org, kvm@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-watchdog@...r.kernel.org, linux-ia64@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org, linux-sh@...r.kernel.org,
 sparclinux@...r.kernel.org, linux-block@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org, openipmi-developer@...ts.sourceforge.net,
 linaro-mm-sig@...ts.linaro.org, linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org,
 platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org, iommu@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
 linux-mm@...ck.org, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
 linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 56/79] docs: Documentation/*.txt: rename all ReST
 files to *.rst

On Tue, 23 Apr 2019 15:01:32 +0200
Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org> wrote:

> But yes, I have 0 motivation to learn or abide by rst. It simply doesn't
> give me anything in return. There is no upside, only worse text files :/

So I believe it gives even you one thing in return: documentation that is
more accessible for both readers and authors.  More readable docs should
lead to more educated developers who understand the code better.  More
writable docs will bring more people in to help to improve them.  The
former effect has been reported in the GPU community, where they say that
the quality of submissions has improved along with the docs.  The latter
can be observed in the increased number of people working on the docs
overall, something that Linus noted in the 5.1-rc1 announcement.

Hopefully that's worth something :)

Thanks,

jon

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.