Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 23 Apr 2019 12:49:22 -0700
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
	James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
	Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
	Sandeep Patil <sspatil@...roid.com>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
	Michal Marek <michal.lkml@...kovi.net>,
	Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>,
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
	linux-security-module <linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: [PATCH v3 0/3] Refactor memory initialization hardening

This refactors the stack memory initialization configs in order to
keep things together when adding Clang stack initialization, and in
preparation for future heap memory initialization configs.

I intend to carry this in the gcc-plugins tree, but I'd really like
to get Acks from Masahiro (Kconfig changes, Makefile change), and
from James (adding the new Kconfig.hardening to security/Kconfig).

Thanks!

-Kees

v3:
- clean up menu/if with a merged "depends on" (masahiro)
- add CONFIG_COMPILE_TEST defaults (masahiro)

v2:
- add plugin menu (masahiro)
- adjust patch subject prefixes (masahiro)
- drop redundent "depends" (masahiro)
- fixed early use of CC_HAS_AUTO_VAR_INIT (masahiro)
- dropped default-enabled for STACK_INIT_ALL (masahiro)


Kees Cook (3):
  security: Create "kernel hardening" config area
  security: Move stackleak config to Kconfig.hardening
  security: Implement Clang's stack initialization

 Makefile                    |   5 ++
 scripts/gcc-plugins/Kconfig | 126 ++-------------------------
 security/Kconfig            |   2 +
 security/Kconfig.hardening  | 164 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 4 files changed, 177 insertions(+), 120 deletions(-)
 create mode 100644 security/Kconfig.hardening

-- 
2.17.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.