Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 11 Apr 2019 17:50:10 +0900
From: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>, Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Sandeep Patil <sspatil@...roid.com>, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
        Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        Alexander Popov <alpopov@...ecurity.com>,
        Michal Marek <michal.lkml@...kovi.net>,
        Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>, James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
        "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>,
        Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org,
        Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/3] Kconfig: Create "kernel hardening" config area

On Thu, Apr 11, 2019 at 1:16 AM Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
> diff --git a/scripts/gcc-plugins/Kconfig b/scripts/gcc-plugins/Kconfig
> index 74271dba4f94..01874ef0f883 100644
> --- a/scripts/gcc-plugins/Kconfig
> +++ b/scripts/gcc-plugins/Kconfig
> @@ -13,10 +13,11 @@ config HAVE_GCC_PLUGINS
>           An arch should select this symbol if it supports building with
>           GCC plugins.
>
> -menuconfig GCC_PLUGINS
> -       bool "GCC plugins"
> +config GCC_PLUGINS
> +       bool


This will flatten the plugin config options.

If you want to keep the current menu structure, you can do:

menu "GCC plugins"
...
endmenu




Another side-effect is Kbuild will descend into scripts/gcc-plugins/
even when no plugin is selected.
It is not a big build speed regression, though.



> diff --git a/security/Kconfig.hardening b/security/Kconfig.hardening
> new file mode 100644
> index 000000000000..8223a8ab1a12
> --- /dev/null
> +++ b/security/Kconfig.hardening
> @@ -0,0 +1,94 @@
> +menu "Kernel hardening options"
> +
> +config GCC_PLUGIN_STRUCTLEAK
> +       bool
> +       depends on GCC_PLUGIN_STRUCTLEAK_USER || GCC_PLUGIN_STRUCTLEAK_BYREF || GCC_PLUGIN_STRUCTLEAK_BYREF_ALL


I think this 'depends on' is unnecessary.


> +menu "Memory initialization"
> +
> +choice
> +       prompt "Initialize kernel stack variables at function entry"
> +       depends on CC_HAS_AUTO_VAR_INIT || GCC_PLUGINS

Nit:
CC_HAS_AUTO_VAR_INIT does not exist at this point.
I will be added by 3/3.


-- 
Best Regards
Masahiro Yamada

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.