Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 10 Apr 2019 09:09:35 -0700
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>
Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>, James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>, 
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>, 
	linux-security-module <linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org>, 
	linux-kbuild <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>, Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>, 
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>, Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, 
	Sandeep Patil <sspatil@...roid.com>, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 2/3] initmem: introduce CONFIG_INIT_ALL_HEAP

On Wed, Apr 10, 2019 at 6:18 AM Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com> wrote:
>
> This config option adds the possibility to initialize newly allocated
> pages and heap objects with a 0xAA pattern.
> There's already a number of places where allocations are initialized
> based on the presence of __GFP_ZERO flag. We just change this code so
> that under CONFIG_INIT_ALL_HEAP these allocations are always initialized
> with either 0x00 or 0xAA depending on the __GFP_ZERO.

Why not just make __GFP_ZERO unconditional instead? This looks like
it'd be simpler and not need arch-specific implementation?

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.