Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 9 Apr 2019 10:06:57 -0700
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>, James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>, 
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>, 
	linux-security-module <linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>, Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>, 
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>, Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>, Sandeep Patil <sspatil@...roid.com>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 1/2] initmem: introduce CONFIG_INIT_ALL_MEMORY and CONFIG_INIT_ALL_STACK

On Tue, Apr 9, 2019 at 1:38 AM Masahiro Yamada
<yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com> wrote:
> > +config INIT_ALL_STACK
> > +       bool "Initialize all stack"
> > +       depends on INIT_ALL_MEMORY
> > +       depends on CC_HAS_AUTO_VAR_INIT || (HAVE_GCC_PLUGINS && PLUGIN_HOSTCC != "")
> > +       select GCC_PLUGINS if !CC_HAS_AUTO_VAR_INIT
> > +       select GCC_PLUGIN_STRUCTLEAK if !CC_HAS_AUTO_VAR_INIT
> > +       select GCC_PLUGIN_STRUCTLEAK_BYREF_ALL if !CC_HAS_AUTO_VAR_INIT
> > +       default y
> > +       help
> > +         Initialize uninitialized stack data with a fixed pattern
> > +         (0x00 in GCC, 0xAA in Clang).
> > +
>
> I am not sure about the benefit of these umbrella CONFIGs
> since these make 'depends on' and 'select' complicated.
> I will leave it to Kees, though.

Yeah, I think this could use some more cleanup to get a single config
that represents that if gcc plugins are available (instead of having
it split across two configs now). Additionally I think this needs
refactoring against the current menu choices for
GCC_PLUGIN_STRUCTLEAK. Let me send a proposed patch in a few hours...

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.